Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Only six cars finished the gruelling 40 laps, with Nathan Macdonald, Wayne Ramsdale, Peter Fraser, Brett Baxter and Mark Carlin the only other cars to finish. In an extraordinary race, five cars withdrew from the race on lap 24 during a routine stoppage, including the lead three cars at the time.

    The race started at a frantic pace with Gavin Fletcher and Aidan Raymont starting on the front row, with Fletcher taking the lead.

    In a spectacular site, Fletcher led until lap ten, when Raymont stormed around the outside in turn one to take the lead.

    The Australian Champion, Max Clarke and South Australian Brendan Higgs collided in turn four, with Clarke retiring, while Higgs who had front end damage from the exchange would retire five laps later.

    A simple spin on lap twenty four would then see a dramatic turn of events, with leader, Aidan Raymont retiring from the race, along with Todd Doyle who had a flat tyre and Fletcher who had a collapsed front end. Peter Gray and Robbie Faux would also retire from the event at this stage, as the field was significantly reduced for the last sixteen laps.

    In a desperate and thrilling final few laps, the drivers all realized there were not many cars left and the race intensified, with five drivers fighting for the win. Mark Carlins amazing run through the C Main and B Main, almost paid off but with three laps to go the car expired, and he would finish sixth after a horror run on Friday night.

    Local gun David Smith held off the many advances by Nathan Macdonald of Queensland in the concluding stages, with Smith winning by just 0.536. Wayne Ramsdale finished third, with Peter Fraser of Western Australia a close fourth.

    Earlier, Fraser, Carlin, Barron and West advance to the A Main from the B Main, although Barron would not start the final, while the C Main would see Carlin and Peter McCarthy advanced to the B Main.

    In the Late Model $10k to win it was equally spectacular from the drop of the green flag after 50 furious laps it was Vosbergen, over the Western Australian of Oldfield, flowed by Grimson for the top 3

    David Smith New Australian Modified Production Champion

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway