• Last Saturday night saw a great night of racing at Wangaratta City Speedway. The Victorian Compact Speedcar Club was down on car numbers, however, there was plenty of action on the track.

    Heat 1 saw the driver’s line up in almost perfect conditions. The track was now taking water and the dust had gone, so the drivers were eager to get underway.

    Mark Cecil was running strong with Matthew Adams and Ian Jones in hot pursuit, until Cecil spun going into turn 4. When the greens dropped for the restart the crowd didn’t know where to look! Adams and Jones were having an epic battle for the lead, and Michael Dickson was working overtime to keep Cecil from passing him on his way back from the rear. Jones passed Adams with 3 laps to go but Adams didn’t let him get away. A lap and a half later Jones drifted high and Adams dived under him and went on to win his first heat since joining the compact class. Jones finished second and Cecil third.

    After having trouble all night, visiting interstate driver Gavin Gay ventured out for an engine start to see if he had fixed his motor problem, but unfortunately it was still running on three cylinders.

    Heat 2 was a disaster for Cecil! However, before that Leigh Foulston and Kristie Dickson had a tight little battle for a few laps, whilst up the front, Cecil was chasing down Jones for 1st until his motor failed and blew a hole in the side of the block. Jones went on to win from Adams and Michael Dickson.

    The feature race was run over 12 laps with Adams and Jones racing straight to the front battling for the lead. Jones got the upper hand on his opponent and went on to build a comfortable lead over his rival. Michael Dickson was going quickly in 3rd place until he spun in turn 1 and was sent to the rear for the restart.

    With a few laps to go Adams tried desperately to keep Jones within passing reach and his share in the 1st place prize money, but was unable to catch him and Jones went on to win his second feature race at Wangaratta in succession, after winning the Victorian Title last month. Adams finished second and Dickson third.

    Compact Speedcar action now turns to the Australian Championship at Goulburn this Saturday night (9th February, 2013). With over 28 cars nominated, racing is sure to be exciting!

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway