• Whilst few categories in Australian speedway are genuinely established in a significant way in every Australian state, AMCA Nationals are an exception and the very best drivers from across the country are gathering this weekend at Supercheap Auto Archerfield Speedway. The 2012/2013 Australian AMCA Nationals Championship has attracted more than 60 drivers for the two nights of competition, which gets underway on Friday night (April 26) and culminates with a 30-lap final on Saturday evening (April 27).

    In fact, such will be the influx of drivers for the championship showdown, more than half the field are making her trek from interstate to take part. Whilst championship events are often swathed in hyperbole about the number of potential winners in the field when, in most cases there are is only small number of potential winners, on this occasion there is a myriad contenders with genuine championship credentials.

    Of the interstate invaders, Victoria’s Tim Reidy is a very prominent figure, having successfully defended his Queensland Championship crown in Toowoomba earlier this season, adding to a championship tally that also includes wins in South Australian and Northern Territory titles. Also part of the six-strong Victorian contingent is Mark Lincoln, Jamie Collins, Paul Sullivan, Bill Lodwick and Frank Thierry.

    Four hardy souls are hauling to the mainland from Tasmania for the title showdown, with Rod Bassett, Daniel Brooks, Andrew Ryder and Rannon Hill seeking to secure the crown for the Apple Isle.

    From the other end of the country, Sam Bruggy and Spanno Gutierrez will be flying the flag for the Northern Territory, while South Australia is sending Brian Chadwick, Ryan Alexander and Danny Prade into battle.

    Not surprisingly, New South Wales are providing a very strong contingent, both in quality and quantity, with many of their contenders possessing considerable experience on the Archerfield circuit. Current state champ Nick Stubbs leads the way but Brayd Stephenson and Shane Newstead have shown plenty of pace here in recent weeks, while Paul Smith and Jim Knight have a wealth of experience that should prove critical as the championship unfolds. Drivers from throughout the state are amongst the NSW squad, including the likes of Shane Cartwright, Darrell Kime, Tony Blanch, Tim Gamble, James Deaham, Scott Brydie, Peter Markulin, Mitchell Randall, Dan Hicks, Andrew Firth and Zac McDonald.

    The fact that the Queensland contingent do the vast majority of their racing at Archerfield should put the locals in a very strong position to ensure the trophy finds a home in the sunshine state. Terrific performances in recent weeks from the likes of Matt Hardy, Lee McKinnell, David Ohl, Nathan Durston, Russ Hardy, Steve Potts and Andrew Robinson certainly sends an ominous message to their rivals and sets the scene for a great contest. Others representing the various regions of the host state are Chris Irwin, Glen Boulter, Kirk Porter, Danny Cain, Matt Ingrey, Kristy Bonsey, Jason Dreaver, Stephen Ward, Cory Battersby, Peter Greer, Mark Brownsey, Dean Ballard, Nathan Battersby, Mark Horstman, Thomas Vickery, Josh Dreaver, Andrew Baker, Matt Enders, Jason Molle, Tony Curd and Colin Punter.

    Of course, also on the program this weekend is the Australian Dirt Modified Championship, with support racing from Microsprints and Junior Dirt Modifieds. Friday night will feature qualifying heats for both championship events, with Saturday night hosting the title-deciding feature races. Don’t forget, a spectacular fireworks show and a car-crunching Queensland versus New South Wales Demolition Derby will round out the Saturday night program.

    Event Information:

    Date: Friday, April 26

    Adults: $25.00
    Pensioners & Students (with Photo ID): $20.00
    Teens: 13 - 15 yrs: $13.00, Children: 5 - 12 yrs: $6.00
    Family Passes: $55.00 (2 adults + 2 children 12 yrs or under)

    Programmed events include: Australian Dirt Modified Championship, Australian AMCA Nationals Championship, Microsprints, BIS Sedans

    Date: Saturday, April 27

    Adults: $27.00
    Pensioners & Students (with Photo ID): $22.00
    Teens: 13 - 15 yrs: $15.00, Children: 5 - 12 yrs: $8.00
    Family Passes: $65.00 (2 adults + 2 children 12 yrs or under)

    Programmed events include: Australian Dirt Modified Championship, Australian AMCA Nationals Championship, Microsprints, Junior Dirt Modifieds, QLD vs NSW Demolition Derby, Fireworks

    General admission gates open at 4:00pm, early racing from 4:45pm, main programme from 6:00pm. Parking is available at the track for $3.00. Racing finishes by 10.30pm.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway