Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • After nominating only days prior to the event Matt Egel and the Downing Brothers racing Team proved that the late nomination was worth it as they dominated round 6 of the Revolution Racegear Speedway City Track Championship. After starting from position two Egel went on to lead the entire 25 lap journey that went from flag to flag defeating runner-up Mark Caruso by over half a lap.

    “Speedway City is my home track so I have done a lot of laps around here so I always expect to run well here. I have gelled really well with Darryl and Mike and the guys and we have the car set up really well here. We could easily be two from two if it wasn’t for the wing post failure on Boxing Day so to get my first win for my new team feels really good” added Matt on podium.

    The battle for third place behind Caruso ended up being an entertaining affair as Hayden Pitt, Luke Bowey and Ricky Maiolo, who was debuting a brand new Eagle Chassis, raced hard for the final podium position. In the end it was Maiolo who got the better of Pitt as he executed an outside pass in turn four on Pitt to secure his best result of the season so far.

    Fourth place eventually went to Bowey who had his best run of the season with Pitt fading back to fifth. Sam Putland, points leader Steven Caruso, Terry Pitt, Jamie Cobby and Keke Falland completed the top 10.

    Earlier the heat winners were Mark Caruso, Matt Egel and Ricky Maiolo. Unfortunately rookie 410ci racer Dan Evans failed to make the start of the A-Main after slamming the turn two wall in heat 2.

    On what was a big night of racing the program also included round 9 of the JD Couriers Super Series, The Speedway Shop Speedcars, Wingless Sprints, Junior Sedans and Street Stocks.

    In what was one of the best Super Sedan A-Main events seen at Speedway City in a number of years Dave Gartner and Ryan Alexander traded the lead on a number of occasions with Gartner getting the better of the young star to claim his sixth round win of the JD couriers Super Series. Third place went to Michael Miller with Whyalla racer Michael Brown completing the top four.

    Strathalbyn resident Janie Crouch was a clear winner of the Speedcar feature ahead of Todd Bennett and Todd Wigzell. The only real incident on the night in the Speedcar events occurred in heat two when the Nathan Squires lumped the start and as a result the caution light came out and as the cars slowed mark Harrington was caught up with Tim Caddy with Harrington rolling over gently in turn three. The roll was so soft Harrington re-joined the field for the restart.

    In the Wingless Sprints it was yet another win for Joel Chadwick as he made it three consecutive Speedway City A-Main victories. Second place went to Robert Heard with Matthew Kennedy and Jarman Dalitz completing the top four. The next meeting at Speedway City on January 30 will feature the South Australian Wingless Sprint Championship.

    In the final racing categories it was Nathan Thorne who edged out his Brother Heath Thorne in the Junior Sedans while Andy Maxwell Jr made a successful trip from Whyalla to take out the Street Stock final over Darren Flatman.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway