• Next weekend thirteen Victorian drivers will make the trek north to Toowoomba Queensland & in particular to 'HiTec Oils Speedway' Toowoomba for the running of the Australian Wingless Sprint title for the 15/16 season & make no mistake about it, their heading there to win it.

    Whilst everybody wants the best result for themselves, the Victorians will be equally happy for any of them to bring the # 1 back to the Garden State for next season.

    Heading the list of entrants from the south is current Victorian champion James Wren who recently secured this honour back to back winning this year’s version at Simpson & the previous at Nyora. Wren is known for performing in big races, prior to his Wingless career he took multiple Sedan title wins & series wins & has continued his winning ways in Open Wheels.

    Sam Wren the cousin of James & Travis Millar both have a extensive Karting history before hitting the dirt to play & whilst this season so far isn't Sam's best, you can bet he will be primed for the title. Millar is a winner, he plays hard to win & cops his share of penalties, yet when he wins he wins important races such as this season's Avalon 50 Lapper.

    Father & Son combination Peter & Wayne Logue take years of Sprintcar experience with them as they travel around, however it's not unique in Wingless Sprints as so many drivers have tasted what it's like to run our big cousins, the Logues will tell you though the best thing about Wingless is how competitive it is & how much fun it is to be racing so close with others.

    Portland brothers Daniel & Luke Storer take the two car Castrol team & whilst Daniel has the wins this season including two in the Alfie's Excavations & Plant Hire series, Luke has had some pace with fast laps during heats at various tracks since Christmas.

    Mathew Balcombe is taking two cars with himself in one & Luke Weel in the other, both competing driver/car packages to keep an eye on, especially Weel who last season & this year has tasted series round success behind the wheel.

    A big improver this year has been David Alford even more so than last, Alford finished in the top five at the Victorian title & now sees qualifying in the main dance at the Aussie a realistic expectation he & another Geelong flyer Andy Hibbert will be in the thick of the action, it's a mark of competitive Victoria is in wingless when just 18 months ago Hibbert was still a prolific winner in the division & now just placing top five In races is a success.

    Finally in the look at Victorians going north there is Rhys Baxter & Jason Langdon from the very strong South West area where Wingless racing continues to increase in numbers each week. Baxter again is in a very competitive year ranking high in series & race position with success for the Webber - Chivell supported racer an absolute focus, if he's not going to win or didn't win the Vic title or Alfie's Series, then the Aussie has to be the one.

    Langdon has been around a while & is one of these drivers that pop's every now & then with a hard earned result at the pointy end in a big event, Langdon could be a smokey in a very strong field to finish on the main event top ten.

    The Victorian Wingless Sprint Club & members wish all the drivers success & a great time in Toowoomba. Supporters can leave encouragement by posting on the Victorian Facebook page directly in comments after this release is posted in a status.

    Written by
    Dean Thompson
    DMT Sports Media
    For Victorian Wingless Sprints
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway