Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • A cracking field of Late Model racers will contest the NSW Championship this Saturday night at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway including interstate stars Tasmanian Brad Smith, Queenslander Carter Armstrong and West Aussie Michael Holmes but for one driver in particular it’s personal.

    It’s Central Coast hard charger Ryan Fenech who looks for State Title redemption in an effort to avenge his disappointment in 2014/2015 when he had his pocket picked by QLD superstar Darren Kane.

    Fenech led the championship main event for its majority before succumbing to Kane’s superior experience and eventually finished second.

    There’s no doubt Ryan will have vastly different plans for his trip to the podium this time around.

    A stout line-up however will stand in the way of Fenech’s attempts with a pair of interstaters joining the NSW regulars, plus the return of Maitland racer and Sydney Swans AFL lady player Jessica Cassidy.

    Cassidy was resigned to the fact her season was over with ongoing motor and budget issues but a Late Model last minute lifeline was thrown to her by friend and LM mover and shaker Bruce Mackenzie yesterday.

    Jess will now pilot the #66 Mackenzie Mastersbilt that Michael Pickens drove a couple of weeks ago at Valvoline Raceway including the grunty 430ci Corvette power plant.

    “I’m really grateful for the opportunity Bruce has given me,” says Cassidy, “I was pretty well done for the season and starting to focus on my footy when Bruce gave me the call up this week. I can’t thank him enough.”

    Darryl Grimson is in sparkling form in the #12 Grim Racecars entry and betting against the vastly experienced yet still always aggressive veteran.

    Grimson will be back despite a spectacular rollover at Timmis Speedway in Mildura last weekend in which his right rear rim snapped and the #12 car barrel rolled in turn one of the main event.

    Fellow south of Sydney racer (Camden region) Ben Nicastri scored the main event win on Good Friday in Mildura and comes into this weekend as a potential favourite with a much smoother build up than Grimson.

    Potential winners for the NSW Championship include but are not limited to David Robertson (though he hasn’t raced much this season in Sydney), Bruce Mackenzie (consistent of late with podium positions) Clayton Pyne (always a determined and rapid racer) Brad Smith (though he doesn’t have LM experience at VR) Nathan Disney (always hectic and due for a win) Todd Bayley (who knows how to win at VR) to name merely a few.

    The nominated field includes:

    David Robertson NSW
    Robert Carrig NSW
    Bruce Mackenzie NSW
    Brad Smith TAS
    Clayton Pyne NSW
    Nathan Disney NSW
    Darryl Grimson NSW
    Todd Bayley NSW
    Anthony Vysma NSW
    Brad Goman NSW
    Ryan Fenech NSW
    Carter Armstrong QLD
    Michael Hickey NSW
    Barry Kelleher NSW
    Jessica Cassidy NSW
    Liam Heaton NSW
    Katelyn Hickey NSW
    Dean Hickey NSW
    Michael Holmes WA
    Ben Nicastri NSW

    A crack field of 49 Wingless Sprints will also converge on Valvoline Raceway including recent Toowoomba Speedway winner Jason Bates in the potent #41 entry plus a veritable who’s who of NSW wingless hard chargers.

    Also on the program is the 2016 Australian Lightning Sprint Championship and the fabulous Fender Benders.

    Gates open at 2pm, main racing starts at 6pm.

    Valvoline Raceway is located at 21 Wentworth Street in Clyde.

    Visit www.valvolineraceway.com.au or like us on Facebook.

    Adults $30
    Pension $20
    Juniors (13-15yrs) $15
    Kids 12 and under (when accompanied by an adult) FREE
    Family Pass (2 adults and 2 children) $70
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, October 21, 2017

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Toowoomba Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Pithara Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Broken Hill Speedway
  • Darlington
  • Saturday, October 28, 2017

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, November 4, 2017

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Sunday, November 5, 2017

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, November 11, 2017

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Geraldton City Speedway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Saturday, November 18, 2017

  • Heartland Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA