Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • After dominating the event for the previous four years Riverland racer Rhys Heinrich had his reign as the Steve Butcher Street Stock Memorial Champion ended last night at the Sunline Speedway Waikerie as Sam Brumfield won a caution littered 20 lap finale. After starting from the pole Brumfield led the entire race journey as he held off the field during the countless number of restarts to defeat Cade Cox and Mount Gambier racer Jason Duell.

    Fourth across the line was Jason Gibbs with Heinrich fighting back to finish fifth after spinning his chances away of his fifth Memorial race win a row in turn four on lap 9.

    The second feature event of the night saw the Modified Sedans battling it out for the Sunline Track Championship with a field of seven cars fronting for action with the current South Australian Champion Mark Sheen establishing a new 15 lap track record on his way to the win as he edged out Mildura’s Wade McCarthy and Terry Brown. Earlier the heats went the way of McCarthy and Sheen.

    The Junior Sedans rounded out a big sedan program with the final round of the Robert Gwynne Memorial Track Championship. Throughout the entire South Australian season the category had been dominated by the Thorne Brothers and Sunday night was more of the same as Heath Thorne defeated Nathan with Ashlee McEwin making it a Daihatsu clean sweep in third. With the win Heath secured his second Track Championship with Nathan and Lachlan Gwynne completing the top three.

    Rookie AMCA National driver Jeremy Moore proved that his maiden feature win at the previous Sunline meeting was no fluke as claimed another win ahead of Mildura’s Darren McCarthy and Raymond Hedley, who drove from position eleven on the starting grid, while the Wingless Sprints saw Anthony McMillan win ahead of Jason Gantz and Jay Brown.

    The Wingless Sprints unfortunately produced the highlight of the afternoon as Victorians Melissa McMillan and Jason Bolitho were involved a multicar roll over in heat one with Melissa McMillan failing to make it back out for the remainder of the meeting.

    The Modlites were out in force for the final meeting of the South Australian season as 13 competitors signed into the pit area and they produced some really close racing all day but they saved the best for the last as the final was a great race. New South Wales resident Ayden Elliot had the win stolen from him insight of the chequered flag by Whyalla’s Michael Brown. Murray Bridge resident Duran Cowland finished third.

    Unfortunately only three Super Sedans fronted but with the JD Couriers Super Series now completed a majority of the drivers were already looking towards next season. But having said that you could take nothing away from rookie Kym Jury as he lapped the venue in impressive fashion to defeat Steve Schwarz, who was debuting a newly acquired Bullet Chassis, and Robert Uren, who was making his first ever Super Sedan start in the Rob Stevens and Jenny Lemar owned #66.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,