• Dirt Modifieds Australia are saddened to learn of the recent passing of long-time competitor, car owner and crew member Graeme Gillespie.

    Graeme began his racing career in a Hotrod at Sydney’s Westmead Speedway in 1968, ultimately retiring from active competition in 1996. Gillespie was a regular at the Morriset and Heddon Gretta Speedways before ultimately becoming a crowd favorite at the Newcastle Motordrome.

    Most recently Graeme was a regular crew member for fellow Novacastrian Scott Cannon, while he also played an active role in the racing endeavors of daughter Melody, son-in-law Trevor Blanch and his grandchildren.

    In 2014 Graeme served as Grand Marshall at the Australian V8 Dirt Modified Championship at the Lismore Speedway, in recognition of his tireless dedication to the sport and V8 Dirt Modifieds.

    Graeme is survived by his loving wife Denise and daughters Melody, Kelly and their families.

    On behalf of the entire V8 Dirt Modified family, Dirt Modifieds Australia passes on its deepest condolences to Graeme’s family and friends. His presence at racetracks around the country will be greatly missed.

    Graeme’s life will be celebrated this coming Friday (Nov 4) at St Stephen’s Church, East Maitland, commencing at 11am.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway