• It has been less than a week since the last Wingless Sprint event at Adelaide Motorsport Park (AMP) but they will be back at the Virginia venue again this Friday Night (November 11) as they are part of the first “Fast Friday” events. Currently a field of 12 drivers is expected to compete and with last weekend’s winner Robert Heard not in the field a new winner is guaranteed. In addition to Heard winning at AMP last Saturday night Victorian Travis Millar also joined the winners list as he was victorious in the Wingless Sprints SA sanctioned race at the Timmis Speedway in Mildura.

    After managing a win and a second placing from his two heat races Heard started on pole in the 14 car field with Dale Gessell who mirrored Heard’s results starting on his outside. Anthony Tapley, Track Champion Matthew Kennedy, Aaron Doe and William Caruso completed the first three rows in the 20-lap finale.

    From the drop of the green it was all the “green machine” as he led the entire 20 lap distance defeating Gessell by 2.855 seconds. Kennedy opened his AMP season campaign with a third placed finish with South Australian Champion Joel Chadwick, who had dropped his opening heat after hitting the turn two wall, finished fourth with Tapley continuing his strong early season form with another top 5.

    William Caruso finally had a trouble-free run as he recorded a sixth placed finish, with Joel Heinrich, Aaron Doe, Brett Ireland and Spencer Taylor rounding out the top 10.

    Jake Ashworth, who was making his first start of the year, ended his night on lap 7 of the main event after jumping a wheel in turn one and riding out a big crash that destroyed the front end of his Eagle Chassis.

    Earlier the heat winners were Heard, Tapley, Chadwick and Gessell.

    The second of the events last Saturday night saw 12 cars head to Mildura with Travis Millar proving too strong for the local contingent. The best of the locals was Jay Brown who secured a runner-up finish with Angelo Halacas completing the podium. Ebony Hobson, Steven Hateley and rookie Boyd Harris were the only other finishers in feature event.

    Ebony Hobson proved to be tough to beat in the heat races as she claimed two of the three preliminaries with Millar winning the third. Travis Beasley was also strong during the heat races as he finished in the runner-up position in all three heats but he unfortunately finished the final on the infield.

    Nominations: Adelaide Motorsport Park - Friday 11th November 2016: S1 Joel Chadwick, S8 Darryl Sloan, V8 Shaun McClure, S10 William Caruso, S13 Dale Gesell, S16 Joel Heinrich, S19 Michael Spoljaric, S24 Aaron Doe, S31 Casey Vanderstelt, S41 Bronson Mauro, S46 Spencer Taylor, S71 Brett Ireland – Total 12
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 17, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sonic Speedway, Swan Hill
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 18, 2018

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway