• This Saturday night (December 17) the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway at Murray Bridge will provide the final dose of dirt track action before Christmas as it hosts the 2016 King of the Bridge for the flying Formula 500’s. Last year nine of the top 10 positions in the final of this event were filled by interstate competitors and when you look at the driver line up that has been assembled a similar situation could occur again this year.

    With the 2017 Australian Formula 500 Championship being held at the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway over Easter the “King of the Bridge” event is shaping up to be a full-dress rehearsal as some of the best drivers from across the country are currently entered.

    Leading the 38 driver entry list is current and two times Australian Champion Liam Williams, who this season has been almost unstoppable in his home state of Queensland. Williams will no doubt be hard to beat but he will have the bigger picture of the Australian Title in mind as he visits Murray Bridge in an attempt to gain some valuable track time.

    The strongest interstate contingent will come from Victoria with over 15 drivers set to cross the border this weekend. Leading the charge will be former South Australian Champion Jack Bell, who is fresh from a feature win last weekend at Laang in the prestigious Grant Sealey Memorial. Bell has already been to Murray Bridge on a couple of occasions this season and he has been extremely fast. Fellow Warrnambool racer, and Uncle, Stephen Bell will also be a serious contender for the win. Stephen has even been victorious in the South Australian Sprintcar Title at the venue in the past so he knows what it takes to win on the 360-metre venue.

    Other Victorian drivers to keep an eye on will include James Aranyosi, who was third in this event last year, Chris Bellman, Dale Sinclair, Grant Stansfield, Shane Van Duynoven and Leigh Van Ginneken.

    A number of strong runners from Western Australia will also make the trek across the Nullabor including former Australian Champion Matt Brown and Steven Ellement while Lexi Underwood will also join the field from Queensland.

    But the locals will be keen to defend their home turf with dual “King” Angelo Karoussis, Patrick Merritt, Jarrod Moore, Brad Stell, Jack Disbury, Hayden Kendrick and Lockie Cates among the local hopes.

    Also on the action-packed program will be the V8 Super Sedans, AMCA Nationals, V6 Sprints, Street Stocks, Junior Sedans and the one and only appearance of the season for the awesome Modlites.

    With strong fields in all sections this Saturday night there will be over 100 cars in the pit area therefore providing great entertainment for all Speedway fans. With such a large program scheduled the event will begin early with a 4:30 start.

    Following the event this weekend the Murray Machining and Sheds Speedway have a number of big events planned post-Christmas including Round 6 of World Series Sprintcars on December 27 and an International Sprintcar event on January 7, with six American drivers already confirmed including 2016 Knoxville Nationals Champion Jason Johnson, World of Outlaws star Brad Sweet, Brian Brown, Dominic Scelzi, Corey Eliason and 21-year-old lady racer Harli White.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway