• Following the success of the inaugural Super Sedan Summer Slam, event organisers are already looking ahead to the 2017/2018 series with additional interest from venues looking to stage a round of the tour next season. This season saw over 30 drivers take part in the tour, with more than 20 contesting the full tour schedule. Of course, the records show that Darren Kane won all four rounds in a dominant display, but the quality of the field at each event – featuring drivers from four states – attracted bumper crowds to all four host venues and the standard of racing overall has the Super Sedan Association excited about the future of the series and confident of even greater competitor and sponsor interest in future years.

    The opening round of the 2016/2017 Summer Slam took place at Gympie’s Mothar Mountain Speedway, a circuit like no other on the Australian speedway landscape. The hillside circuit always proves a test of man and machine and it was the extensive experience of Darren Kane and Matt Pascoe on the Gympie layout that saw them finish in the top two spots in the feature event. Starting from the front row, Kane led throughout the 40-lap feature event as Pascoe worked his way through the field after a starting from row five. Current SSA champion Sean Black finished third ahead of Matt Williams and South Australia’s Ryan Alexander.

    Round two at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway again emerged as a dogfight between Kane and Pascoe, with the latter securing the initial advantage despite a loss of power steering from early in the race. Kane eventually found his way to the front on lap 20 and skipped clear for his second win in as many nights. In a top five that comprised the exact same drivers as round one, Alexander finished in third spot ahead of Williams, with Black finishing fifth on this occasion.

    Round three saw the field unleashed on the high banks of Toowoomba Speedway and it was again Kane who proved unstoppable, leading every circulation in the 40-lap feature. Alexander finished second on this occasion, with Williams also improving on his previous results to finish third. After struggling to make much impression in the opening two rounds, three-time national champ Michael Nicola finished fourth ahead of Pascoe.

    There was simply no stopping Kane come the final round at Kingaroy Speedway and he again led every lap of the feature race to clean sweep all four tour events. Continuing their run of top five results in every round, Alexander and Williams finished second and fourth respectively. Nicola continued his resurgence to snare third spot while Lachlan Onley, in his best result of the tour, finished fifth to ensure that every participating state was represented inside the top five in at least one event.

    The Summer Slam is unlike other multi-round competitions in that there is no progressive pointscore over the four rounds and no overall series champion is anointed at the completion of the series. Each round is a stand-alone event utilising different race formats to best fit the needs of each host circuit, an approach that also tests the versatility of drivers in adapting to the different skill sets that each format and track layout demands.

    Much of the success of the inaugural Summer Slam tour is due to the sponsorship support from Ian Boettcher Race Parts, Ford Wreckers Redcliffe, Think Money and Tania’s T’s, with each company taking on a naming rights role for one of the rounds. With additional support from Speedway Sedans Australia, Speedway Sedans Queensland and Speedway Australia, the Super Sedan Summer Slam became a reality and filled the void left on the Australian Super Sedan landscape by the absence of the National Super Sedan Series.

    The Super Sedan Association appreciates the support of the sponsors, competitors, host venues and spectators that made 2016/2017 Summer Slam such a success and they are looking forward to a bigger and better tour for the 2017/2018 season.

    The 2016/2017 Super Sedan Summer Slam is proudly supported by:

    Super Sedan Association
    Ian Boettcher Race Parts
    Ford Wreckers Redcliffe
    Think Money
    Tania’s T’s
    Speedway Sedans Queensland
    Speedway Sedans Australia
    Speedway Australia

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway