• Having enjoyed a few weeks off to regroup from a gruelling Christmas/New Year schedule that included the inaugural Summer Slam tour and the Queensland Championship, Super Sedan teams fire back into action this Saturday night (February 4) for another special event at Gympie’s Mothar Mountain Speedway. Part of the year-long G150 celebrations commemorating the 150th anniversary of the discovery of gold in the region and the birth of Gympie township, the Super Sedan Gold Cup has attracted a quality field for round seven of the Think Money Championship Series.

    Perhaps fittingly, it is Gympie’s own Mark Pagel who currently leads the championship after six completed rounds, sitting more than 200 points ahead of Ian Brims, with newly minted Queensland champion Matt Pascoe sitting third overall. All three drivers are amongst the nominations for the event and their battle alone promises to produce plenty of action, even before you consider the other 15 drivers who have nominated for the show with every intention of upstaging the series front runners and securing Gold Cup glory.

    Whilst Pagel was the dominant driver in the opening weeks of the season, recording three wins from the five completed rounds (round six was curtailed by rain), it is Pascoe’s form throughout the Summer Slam and his superb performance in winning his second state championship that has maybe elevated him to pre-race favouritism for this weekend. Then again, Pagel drives the tricky Mothar Mountain layout as good as anybody and will be determined to further expand his series lead and while Brims has been a model of consistency so far this season, he knows that a win in the 40-lap feature race is critical in his bid to close the gap to Pagel at the top of the championship standings.

    Other drivers in the field who have impressed on the Mothar Mountain circuit in previous events include Jason Campbell, Dempsie Pails and Tim O’Shea, while Kingaroy’s David Musch has produced some solid results this season and must be closing in on a podium result.

    Also amongst the entries for Saturday night’s action are Josh McLaren, Tony Brinkmann, Gordon Shaw, Jack Childs, Craig Shaw, David O’Keefe, Bob McCosker, Sam Grundy, Nicholas O’Keefe, Sam Roza and Brian Grundy.

    Each driver will contest three qualifying heats to accumulate points that will determine their starting positions in the 40-lap feature race.

    The 2016/2017 Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series is proudly supported by:

    Think Money
    Ian Boettcher Race Parts
    AFCO Shock Doctor
    Sweet Chassis
    B&J Car Sales
    Queensland Speedway Spares
    Barnes Drilling
    Dominator Race Wear
    Speedway Australia
    J&J Bullbars
    M&N Car Carriers
    McCosker Contracting
    Speedway Sedans Australia
    Tania’s T’s
    Brisbane Truck Centre
    Brims Concrete
    Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

    For Super Sedan news and results throughout the 2016/2017 season, follow the Super Sedan Association on Facebook or visit the SSA website at www.supersedan.com.au
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway