Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Liam Williams was once again the form driver on Saturday night at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway, going flag-to-flag to take out the eighth KRE F500 Championship Series round.

    The current and two-time Australian Champion put in a dominant performance in the 15-lap feature race, after starting from position second, due to his strong form in the earlier heat races.

    Getting the jump on pole-sitter Tristan Johnson off the start line, Williams went on to score a convincing victory ahead of Ryan McNamara in the runner up spot. Making a return to the track after his last appearance in late December, Ryan Skennar also gave a strong showing to snare the final podium place in third.

    Finishing just off the podium in fourth was the fast-paced Kristin Brown, with youngster James Kennedy rounding out the top five. Tomas Partington, Phill Roberts, Graham Williams and Piper Ogilvie completed the remaining finishers.

    It was a disappointing outcome for Johnson, who had been on track to come away with a pleasing result, but was forced to retire on lap seven after contact with a lapped car. Robert Kite was also unable to finish the feature race, retiring to the infield on lap six. An unlucky Vicki Canfield was unable to take place in the feature-race field, due to some mechanical issues during the earlier heat races.

    The earlier heat-race action saw wins shared between Johnson, Liam Williams and Skennar, with the three drivers also racking up a third-place finish each.

    Contesting a doubleheader on Friday and Saturday nights at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway and Hi-Tec Oils Speedway, a number of Junior Formula 500 drivers demonstrated their consistency. Leading the pack over both nights was Nick Hodges, who won two of his heat races (one on each night) and scored three seconds and a third-place finish, while local Tarhlea Apelt also impressed, coming away with a victory on Saturday night and three third-place finishes.

    Dekota Gay was also in strong form, with two heat-race wins (one on each night) and a third-place finish on Saturday night, while the remaining wins on Friday night went the way of Bodie Smith and Boyd Chaffey, who also came away with a second and third-place finish. Nick Whell claimed Saturday night’s remaining victory and also scored two seconds and a third-place finish throughout the weekend.

    The ninth round of the KRE F500 Championship Series will be held on the Saturday night of February 18 at Archerfield Speedway, with the Junior Formula 500s also joining the program.

    The Brisbane Formula 500 Club is proudly supported by KRE Race Engines. To find out more about KRE Race Engines, visit www.kreraceengines.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook by searching KRE Race Engines. Associate supporters are Ian Boettcher Race Parts and Myla Graphics.

    To keep up-to-date with everything regarding the Brisbane Formula 500 Club, LIKE them on Facebook by searching Brisbane Formula 500 Club.

    Photo: Bestmann Photography

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway