• There are few tracks as steeped in speedway sedan history as Lismore Speedway in the far north of New South Wales. In addition to being the home track for Australia’s best ever speedway sedan driver in Grenville Anderson, the picturesque circuit has also been responsible for the emergence of many of the biggest names in speedway sedan racing, such as John Leslight, Wayne Randall, Nev Pezzutti and Paul O’Neill. This Saturday night, the tradition continues when the current stars of the sport sweep into town to contest round eight of the Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series, proudly presented by Tania’s T’s. A 19-car field has nominated for competition, with drivers trekking from throughout New South Wales and Queensland for the event. Can Randall successfully represent the old guard and relive former glories with another feature race win on the track that launched his career, or will it be Darren Kane or Matt Pascoe who again prove a class above the field?

    Kane completely dominated the inaugural Super Sedan Summer Slam tour over the Christmas/New Year period, winning all four rounds in emphatic fashion while Pascoe, who proved Kane’s toughest rival over the four consecutive nights of competition, has since won his second Queensland Championship (in which Kane finished second) and is fresh from a comprehensive win in the previous round of the Think Money Championship in Gympie two weekends ago. Both drivers have enjoyed success at Lismore and with their on-track rivalry having produced myriad memorable moments over the last few seasons, the prospect of these two locked in combat on the hallowed showground circuit will no doubt revive memories of the great sedan rivalries of the past.

    As would be expected for any visit to Lismore, the event has attracted one of the strongest fields assembled so far this season with Kane and Pascoe taking on the likes of Randall, defending series champion Sean Black and current series point leader Mark Pagel, along with regular front runners in Wayne Brims, Ian Brims and Jason Campbell. Ian Brims started his racing career at Lismore in the Modified Sedan ranks before stepping up into Super Sedans, while Wayne is always determined to win on his home track against the Queenslanders. Whilst it is hard to imagine the feature race winner coming from outside this group, there are several drivers who, in recent rounds, have emerged as contenders with a run of impressive results.

    In particular, Sam Roza and David Musch have been strong, their most recent efforts netting them second and fourth respectively at Gympie, while Tony Brinkmann just needs a run of luck to facilitate some improved results. Others journeying south from Queensland include David O’Keefe, Nicholas O’Keefe, Rodney Pammenter and former series champion Mark O’Brien. Meanwhile, joining the Brims boys in representing NSW will be Barry Towers, Mark Towers and Brian Trevithick who, despite being outnumbered by their northern rivals, will be determined to deliver strong performances in the 40-lap feature race.

    Each driver will contest three heat races to accumulate points, with the top eight qualifiers from the heats taking part in the Penrite Grid Draw that determines the starting order for the main event.

    The 2016/2017 Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series is proudly supported by:

    Think Money
    Ian Boettcher Race Parts
    AFCO Shock Doctor
    Sweet Chassis
    B&J Car Sales
    Queensland Speedway Spares
    Barnes Drilling
    Dominator Race Wear
    Speedway Australia
    J&J Bullbars
    M&N Car Carriers
    McCosker Contracting
    Speedway Sedans Australia
    Tania’s T’s
    Topline Trophies
    Brisbane Truck Centre
    Speedway Australia
    Brims Concrete
    Ford Wreckers Redcliffe

    For Super Sedan news and results throughout the 2016/2017 season, follow the Super Sedan Association on Facebook or visit the SSA website at www.supersedan.com.au
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway