• Current and two-time Australian Champion Liam Williams continued his winning ways, taking out last Saturday night’s ninth KRE F500 Championship Series round after what was a disjointed feature race at Brisbane’s Archerfield Speedway.

    In a repeat of the previous round’s results, Ryan McNamara filled the runner-up spot in the shortened feature race, which saw only 11 laps completed, while Kristin Brown rounded out the podium in third.

    Williams was the dominant force from the drop of the green flag, immediately taking the lead from pole position and pulling away from his rivals, who were battling for the minor podium places. Surviving a number of stoppages and restarts, which ultimately saw the feature race declared after 11 laps, Williams could not be stopped, scoring back-to-back victories, after recently winning the eighth round of the series at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway. For Williams, this was his sixth KRE F500 Championship round win for the 2016-17 season.

    Finishing just off the podium in fourth was Bryn Upshall, ahead of Graham Williams, Piper Ogilvie and ex-Junior Formula 500 racer Randy Morgan, who impressively finished eighth in his senior debut. Cameron Bertuch and Tomas Partington completed the remaining finishers.

    Ryan Skennar was unlucky not to come away with third place, after contact with another competitor caused him to roll across the track a number of times, before the race was declared and final positions were awarded.

    The other hard-luck story of the night was Tristan Johnson, who had qualified third for the feature race by virtue of a strong performance in his heat races, before getting caught up and spinning in the first corner, putting him out of contention with a disappointing DNF. Joining him on the infield were Robert Kite, Vicki Canfield and newcomer Marshall Lewis.

    Following a crash in his second heat race, James Kennedy and his team worked hard to repair his car; however they were unable to make it out for the feature race after finding a hole in the radiator.

    The earlier heat-race action saw wins shared between Johnson, Liam Williams, Graham Williams and Skennar.

    In the Junior Formula 500s, heat-race wins went the way of Nick Whell, Boyd Chaffey, Nick Hodges and Tarhlea Apelt, while Hodges and Chaffey were the form drivers of the night, having also come away with two runner-up finishes each.

    The 10th round of the KRE F500 Championship Series will be held on the Saturday night of March 4 at Toowoomba’s Hi-Tec Oils Speedway, while the Junior Formula 500s will also be in action on the same night but at Archerfield Speedway.

    The Brisbane Formula 500 Club is proudly supported by KRE Race Engines. To find out more about KRE Race Engines, visit www.kreraceengines.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook by searching KRE Race Engines. Associate supporters are Ian Boettcher Race Parts and Myla Graphics.

    To keep up-to-date with everything regarding the Brisbane Formula 500 Club, LIKE them on Facebook by searching Brisbane Formula 500 Club.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway