• With three headline categories bringing more than 65 cars between them, this Saturday night (March 25) is shaping up as something special for race fans at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway with the Queensland Midget Championship, the Think Money Super Sedan Series and Dirt Modifieds sharing the spotlight on a huge triple-bill program. Bringing the three categories together on the same night ensures variety and action aplenty, with each group bringing their best drivers into battle.

    Michael Harders will defend his Queensland Midget Championship against 25 drivers from three states and, having hardly raced this season, he will face a tough test from the likes of four-time national champ Adam Clarke, who won the last Midget feature race at Archerfield just two weeks ago and is a former winner of this event. In fact, at one stage, Clarke held every state title at the same time and has earned his status as pre-race favourite. Joining Clarke in travelling from NSW are Nathan Smee, Adam Wallis, Jason Bell and rookie racer Kaiden Brown, who has secured some very good results south of the border, with recently crowned Tasmanian champion Joe Lostitch making the journey from Victoria to take part.

    The form locals of recent weeks have been Brock Dean, Reid Mackay and Troy Ware and former titleholder Rusty Whittaker, all of whom finished in the top five behind Clarke at the previous event. Dean was a feature winner at Archerfield a few weeks ago, while Darren Vine and Brendan Palmer also know their way to victory lane and possess a wealth of big race experience. Throw in Scott Doyle, another former champ in Mark George and Kiwi hotshoe Chris Gwilliam and there are myriad possible permutations with regard to the outcome of the championship feature race.

    After a disappointing turn out for their last Archerfield outing, 21 drivers have nominated for round eleven of the Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series, their biggest field for the season thus far. Although series leader Mark Pagel has all but wrapped up the championship following his runner-up finish in Kingaroy last weekend, you can be sure that he will be fighting hard to extend his points advantage. Pagel’s biggest threat seems likely to come from the likes of Matt Pascoe, Wayne Brims, Wayne Randall, Ian Brims, Steve Jordan and defending series champion Sean Black. It was Pascoe who won the previous event at Archerfield and was gallant in defeat at Kingaroy, finishing third in a thriller, while Randall, Jordan and the Brims boys are all former state and/or national champions looking to make their mark on a season that is yet to see any of them produce their very best form.

    Dirt Modifieds have secured 21 entries as well and their field is also stacked with champions, including the current Australian titleholder Kevin Britten. Fresh back from an interstate campaign that saw him successfully defend his Western Australian and South Australian titles, Britten will be desperate to carry that form into battle on his home track. Britten will take on former national champs Andrew Pezzutti and David Clark, along with regular front runners such as Gary Wathen, Scott Conlin and category stalwart Ray Klarich. Whilst these guys bring plenty of experience in to the mix, the depth in the ranks is stronger than ever with several drivers in the field capable of upstaging the big guns, including Trent Scofield, Nick Knott, Tony Dunn and Josh Rose, who has a feature race win on his home track at Grafton to his credit and would relish such a result in Brisbane against the best in the business.

    Open Sedans and Formula 500 Juniors complete what will be a huge program of racing, with gates opening at 4.00pm. Early racing will get underway at 4.45pm, Midgets will hit the track for time trials from 5.30pm and the main program will kick off at 6.00pm.

    2016/2017 Queensland Midget Championship nominations: Charlie Brown, Rodney Harders, Darren Vine, Adam Wallis, Tony Stephen, Michael Harders, Mark George, Joseph Lostitch, Kristy Bonsey, Adam Clarke, Cal Whatmore, Brendan Palmer, Corey Stothard, Tony Eickenloff, Darren Dillon, Nathan Smee, Troy Ware, Reid Mackay, Rusty Whitaker, Scott Doyle, Jason Bell, Shayne McDowell, Kaiden Brown, Brock Dean, Chris Gwilliam

    2016/2017 Think Money Super Sedan Championship Series round eleven nominations: Matt Pascoe, Ian Brims, Wayne Randall, Mark Pagel, Sean Black, Wayne Brims, Jack Childs, Glen Knox, Steve Jordan, David OKeefe, Nicholas OKeefe, Craig Craft, Rodney Craft, David Musch, Tony Brinkmann, Barry Craft, Bob McCosker, Mark OBrien, Ed Doherty, Travis Barron, Brian Trevithick

    Dirt Modified nominations: Kevin Britten, Scott Conlin, David Clark, Lance Towns, Nick Knott, Garry Wathen, Kevin Stow, Graeme Holland, Andrew Pezzutti, Trent Scofield, Geoff Rose, Chris Holdt, Andrew Firth, Josh Rose, Phil Roberts, Trevor Wiley, Stu Jefferies, Anthony Ashen, Simon Blandford, Tony Dunn, Ray Klarich

    For more information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook or head to the track website at www.brisbanespeedway.com.au for event information and updates.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway