• Last Saturday night the Australian Wingless Sprints of SA held their Awards Evening for 2016- 2017 racing season with current Australian and South Australian Champion Joel Chadwick receiving the highest honour as the 2016/17 DRIVER OF THE YEAR.

    In addition to the top award several other trophies were on offer with many worthy recipients walking away with silverware on what was a great night, despite the small turn out.

    The AUSTRALIAN WINGLESS SPRINT OF SA ENCOURAGEMENT AWARD went to Casey Vanderstelt while the MOST IMPROVED AWARD was resented to Anthony Tapley, who had a breakout season which included a number of podium results, along with a feature race victory during the Easter Trail at the Riverland Speedway at Renmark.

    After a couple of hard wrecks throughout the season David Cuppleditch received the HARD LUCK AWARD with the BEST PRESENTED CAR & CREW AWARD going to Matthew Kennedy. This was a well-deserved accolade for the #21 Kennedy Motorsports Team as Matthew has presented an immaculate looking race car for several years.

    The ROOKIE OF THE YEAR title went to Joel Heinrich, who had made an impressive transition from Dirt Kart racing to Speedway competition, while the BILL WIGZELL CLUB PERSON OF THE YEAR AWARD, which includes a Perpetual Trophy, went to Club President Darryl “The Prez” Sloan.

    Last, but not least, Loretta Thibodeau, Greg Readett & Anthony McMillan also received a big “Thank You” for their efforts throughout the year for making the 2016/17 Wingless Sprints SA season a successful one.

    Despite the season officially being wrapped up there is still one more racing event on the Wingless Sprints calendar with a Track Championship Round at the Sunline Speedway at Waikerie on Sunday June 11, 2017, and the club’s AGM is scheduled for Saturday 24th June at 3pm.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway