• Hayden Norman finished the Ellenbrook Speedway season in style, winning an exciting Street Stock A Main on Saturday night in front of a big crowd.

    After finishing fifth, fifth and second in his qualifying heats, Norman started on the fourth row of the grid for the A Main, which proved to be a highly exciting affair.

    Luke Fraser and Peter Herbert started on the front row, and the duo traded the lead in opening laps, joined by Phil Lycholit and Peter Huntjens and Josh Martinelli in a five way battle for the lead.

    With the battle intensifying lap by lap, Norman got a great split between a whole host of the front runners, taking the lead on lap three, passing Peter Herbert to take the lead. Herbert was also passed by Fraser, as positioned changed continually.

    The racing was very close, but unfortunately for Josh Martinelli he hit the fence on lap six, in turn four which bunched the field for the concluding laps.

    On the resumption, Norman was challenged by Fraser and Herbert again, but Norman held them off lap by lap.

    Two laps from the end Herbert suffered mechanical failure and retired, elevating Lycholit to third, but he would be passed on the final lap by Peter Huntjens.

    Norman drove away from the field on the last lap to record yet another Feature win, downing Fraser, Huntjens, Lycholit and Ryan Penfold, who started from the sixth row of the grid, finishing fifth.

    Earlier the six qualifying heats were won by Phil Lycholit, Peter Huntjens, Peter Herbert and Luke Fraser, with Herbert and Fraser winning heats five and six to confirm their front row start in the main event.

    :: Street Stock

    Heat One, 8 laps: 1. W17 Phil Lycholit, 2. W21 Anthony Heeland, 3. W3 Luke Fraser, 4. W44 Peter Herbert, 5. W6 Hayden Norman, 6. W318 Freddy Kinsella, 7. W12 Ryan Penfold, 8. W90 Nicholas Brown. DNF: W92 Isaac Arnold (4). Total Time: 3.07.214. Winning Margin: 0.412. Fastest Lap: 22.792 W44 Peter Herbert.

    Heat Two, 8 laps: 1. W25 Peter Huntjens, 2. W7 Josh Martinelli, 3. W31 Cody Avins, 4. W57 Rodney Passamani, 5. W66 Ben Norman, 6. W2 Damion Huntjens, 7. W77 Daniel Sutton, 8. W228 Grant Hinkley, 9. W27 Michael McCague. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 5.134. Fastest Lap: 22.976 W25 Peter Huntjens

    Heat Three, 8 laps: 1. W44 Peter Herbert, 2. W318 Freddy Kinsella, 3. W21 Anthony Heelan, 4. W7 Josh Martinelli, 5. W6 Hayden Norman, 6. W25 Peter Huntjens, 7. W31 Cody Avins, 8. W77 Daniel Sutton, 9. W228 Grant Hinkley. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 0.701. Fastest Lap: 23.401 W6 Hayden Norman.

    Heat Four, 8 laps: 1. W3 Luke Fraser, 2. W17 Phil Lycholit, 3. W12 Ryan Penfold, 4 W2 Damion Huntjens, 5. W66 Ben Norman, 6. W57 Rodney Passamani, 7. W27 Michael McCague, 8. W90 Nicholas Brown, 9. W92 Isaac Arnold. Total Time: 3.10.592. Winning Margin: 1.596. Fastest Lap: 23.199 W3 Luke Fraser.

    Heat Five, 8 laps: 1. W44 Peter Herbert, 2. W17 Phil Lycholit, 3. W25 Peter Huntjens, 4. W2 Damion Huntjens, 5. W27 Michael McCague, 6. W57 Rodney Passamani, 7. W66 Ben Norman, 8. W90 Nicholas Brown. DNF: W92 Isaac Arnold (6). Total Time: 3.14.460. Winning Margin: 2.646. Fastest Lap: 23.715 W44 Peter Herbert.

    Heat Six, 8 laps: 1. W3 Luke Fraser, 2. W6 Hayden Norman, 3.W7 Josh Martinelli, 4. W318 Freddy Kinsella, 5.W31 Cody Avins, 6. W21 Anthony Heelan, 7. W12 Ryan Penfold, 8. W77 Daniel Sutton, 9. W228 Grant Hinkley. Total Time: 3.09.280. Winning Margin: 0.314. Fastest Lap: 23.136 W6 Hayden Norman.

    Feature, 10 laps: 1. W6 Hayden Norman, 2. W3 Luke Fraser, 3. W25 Peter Huntjens, 4. W17 Phil Lycholit, 5. W12 Ryan Penfold, 6. W21 Anthony Heeland, 7. W318 Freddy Kinsella, 8. W31 Cody Avins, 9. W2 Damion Huntjens, 10. W57 Rodney Passamani, 11. W27 Michael McCague, 12. W90 Nicholas Brown. DNF: W66 Ben Norman (5), W92 Isaac Arnold (5), W7 Josh Martinelli (5), W77 Daniel Sutton (2). DNS: W228 Grant Hinkley. Total Time: No Time. Winning Margin: 2.784. Fastest Lap: 23.097 W17 Phil Lycholit.

    Hayden Norman after winning the A Main at Ellenbrook on Saturday night. Photo courtesy of Peter Roebuck.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 17, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sonic Speedway, Swan Hill
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 18, 2018

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway