Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Evan Wakefield has won the Street Stock Stocktober at the Kalgoorlie International Speedway on Saturday night, in very trying race conditions in the 25 lap main event.

    The distance of the race was reduced after turn two turned into a dust bowl, while the remainder of the track was clear and fast.

    Last seasons winner, Jack Barnewall and Wakefield would start on the front row of the grid, with the race conducted in the clockwise direction, unlike the six qualifying heats which all ran the traditional way.

    In a race of attrition, only eight cars remained on track with ten laps remaining, which had been led by Jack Barnewall from the outset. Wakefield got the better of Peter Walker after seven laps to move to second place and set out after Barnewall.

    The final ten laps saw Barnwell just lead Wakefield, Victorian Darren Forrest and Peter Walker. With eight laps remaining, Barnewall ran slightly wide out of the treacherous turn two giving Wakefield and opportunity, but the door was immediately shut by Barnewall. A lap later another opportunity arose, with Wakefield moving under Barnewall in the main straight to hit the front.

    Barnewall moved off the curb in turn two, with Forrest looking to move underneath which saw him prematurely go infield allowing Walker into third.

    Wakefield held on in the final few laps to win by three car length, with Walker and Forrest close behind. Wayne Glasson, Zane Humphrys, Daniel Selleck and Jeremy Ferris were the only other drivers to complete the distance in trying conditions.

    Earlier, Wakefield won the opener, before Ethan Genev won heats two and three, with mechanical woes putting the Collie driver out of contention later in the night, and he would not start the A Main. Jack Barnewall won heat four and five, before Zane Humphrys won the final qualifying heat.

    : Street Stock

    Heat 1, 10 Laps: 1. W21 Evan Wakefield, 2. V41 Darren Forrest, 3. W00 Hamish Macalpine, 4. W11 Chris Woods, 5. W38 Daniel Selleck, 6. W90 Nicholas Brown, 7. V14 Megan Forrest (9 laps). DNF: W4 Travis Clarke (1). Time: 3.33.223, Winning Margin: 0.514, Fastest Lap: 20.171 W00 Hamish Macalpine

    Heat 2, 10 Laps: 1. W4 Ethan Genev, 2. W16 Jack Barnewall, 3. W81 Peter Walker, 4. W6 Wayne Glasson, 5. W32 Ben Ferris, 6. W37 Jeremy Ferris, 7. W39 Zane Humphrys, 8. W31 Mitchell Hamel (9 laps). Time: 3.24.026, Winning Margin: N/A, Fastest Lap: 19.839 W4 Ethan Genev

    Heat 3, 10 Laps: 1. W4 Ethan Genev, 2. W00 Hamish Macalpine, 3. W6 Wayne Glasson, 4. W32 Ben Ferris, 5. W11 Chris Woods, 6. V14 Megan Forrest, 7. W90 Nicholas Brown, 8. W31 Mitchell Hamel (9 laps). Time: 3.24.670, Winning Margin: 0.587, Fastest Lap: 19.267 W00 Hamish Macalpine

    Heat 4, 10 Laps: 1. W16 Jack Barnewall, 2. W81 Peter Walker, 3. V41 Darren Forrest, 4. W21 Evan Wakefield, 5.W39 Zane Humphrys, 6. W38 Daniel Selleck, 7. W37 Jeremy Ferris, 8. W4 Travis Clarke. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 2.547, Fastest Lap: 19.680 W16 Jack Barnewall

    Heat 5, 10 Laps: 1. W16 Jack Barnewall, 2. W21 Evan Wakefield, 3. W6 Wayne Glasson, 4. W11 Chris Woods, 5. W32 Ben Ferris, 6. V14 Megan Forrest (9 laps), 7. W31 Mitchell Hamel (9). DNF: W00 Hamish Macalpine (7). Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.203, Fastest Lap: 20.160 W16 Jack Barnewall

    Heat 6, 10 Laps: 1. W39 Zane Humphrys, 2. W81 Peter Walker, 3. W4 Ethan Genev, 4. V41 Darren Forrest, 5. W38 Daniel Selleck, 6. W37 Jeremy Ferris, 7. W4 Travis Clarke, 8. W90 Nicholas Brown. Time: 3.28.920, Winning Margin: 0.745, Fastest Lap: 20.189 W81 Peter Walker

    A Main, 25. Laps: 1. W21 Evan Wakefield, 2. W16 Jack Barnewall, 3. W81 Peter Walker, 4. V41 Darren Forrest, 5. W6 Wayne Glasson, 6. W39 Zane Humphrys, 7. W38 Daniel Selleck, 8. W37 Jeremy Ferris. DNF: 9. W00 Hamish Macalpine (15), 10. W11 Chris Woods (12), 11. W31 Mitchell Hamel (12), 12. W4 Travis Clarke (9), 13. W32 Ben Ferris (8), 14. W90 Nicholas Brown (8), 15. V14 Megan Forrest (4). DNS: W4 Ethan Genev. Time: No Time, Winning Margin: 0.709, Fastest Lap: 20.249 W16 Jack Barnewall

    Evan Wakefield moves under Jack Barnewall to take the lead. Photo courtesy of Blake Jones

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Tuesday, December 26, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Wednesday, December 27, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Thursday, December 28, 2017

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Friday, December 29, 2017

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Saturday, December 30, 2017

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway (Horsham)
  • Horsham
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, December 31, 2017

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Monday, January 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Wednesday, January 3, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Thursday, January 4, 2018

  • Laang Speedway