• The wait is over for Brisbane speedway sedan fans with a big field of drivers from three states set to unleash on Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway this Saturday night (December 2) for round three of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series. The 25-car field includes six state or national championship winners, including the current Australian and Queensland titleholders in Darren Kane and Matt Pascoe. However, if a stellar field of Super Sedan stars isn’t enough to whet your appetite for a night of dirt track action, a crack contingent of Dirt Modified daredevils will also be carving up the clay, with national champ Kevin Britten looking to bounce back after a disappointing result (by his lofty standards) at their opening event of the season last month. Also on the program is round three of the Modlite Pro Series, plus Late Models and Open Sedans.

    Whilst Darren Kane has a busy night ahead of him competing in both Late Models and Super Sedans, it is the latter that will provide him with the biggest challenge as he faces off against Pascoe and fellow big guns such as Wayne Randall, Steve Jordan, Ian Brims and Matt Williams. Like Kane, Pascoe is the winner of multiple Australian Championships and brings strong form into the contest, having taken out the previous round in Rockhampton, while Jordan is also a former national champion who has enjoyed plenty of success here at Archerfield. Williams and Brims are former state titleholders in Queensland and New South Wales respectively while Randall has enjoyed a remarkable record of success across a long career, having accumulated five state title victories and innumerable feature race wins around the country.

    Having advanced from the fourth row of the grid to usurp Pascoe from the lead in Rockhampton before succumbing to a late-race pass, Toowoomba’s Sean Black has every reason to be confident of a strong result. Gavin Northfield was looking good at the front of the field in the opening round feature race at Kingaroy before rain intervened, so he is another worth watching this weekend. Tania Smith and Brian Trevithick join Brims in representing New South Wales, while Adam Beechey is trekking from Tasmania to take part in Australia’s toughest Super Sedan competition.

    Kevin Britten has the been the benchmark performer in Dirt Modified racing for a few seasons now and he will be keen to reassert his authority after struggling to make an impression in the opening round. One of the most spectacular drivers in any category, Britten will never relent in his pursuit of victory and, more often than not, his bold high side runs carry him to victory lane. Having taken out the previous event here, category veteran Andrew Pezzutti remains a force and he will again serve as Britten’s biggest threat this weekend. Others expected to feature at the front of the field include Mitchell Randall and Ray Klarich, both of whom finished on the podium in Maryborough last weekend, along with Garry Wathen, Sam Bruggy and Terry Leerentveld, who is another doing double duty on the night as he also tackles the Modlite events.

    As the current state titleholder and a former national champ, Leerentveld remains at the top of the Modlite pecking order, but this season has seen several challengers emerge to create some of the closest competition for several seasons. Klinton Hancey has been particularly strong and, having upstaged Leerentveld in Maryborough last weekend, he looms as the man to beat. Will Butler, Ben Walker, Brad Dawson, Nathan Politch, Kyle Honour and Sean Rose have produced plenty of pace in earlier rounds and should be strong again on Saturday night.

    A small field of Late Models will make their second appearance for the season, with Kane looking almost unbeatable if he reproduces the form that saw him completely dominate the opening round.

    Another solid line-up of more than 20 Open Sedans will complete the program, with gates opening at 4.00pm. Early racing gets from 5.00pm and the main show kicks off from 6.00pm, with adult tickets from $25.00.

    Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series round three nominations: Adam Beechey, Allan Nash, Barry Craft, Bob McCosker, Brendan Doyle, Brian Trevithick, Craig Craft, Dale Christensen, Darren Kane, David O'Keefe, Ed Doherty, Gavin Northfield, Ian Brims, Jack Childs, Justin Randall, Kyall Fisher, Matt Pascoe, Matt Williams, Nicholas O'Keefe, Ryan Cats, Sam Roza, Sean Black, Steve Jordan, Tania Smith, Wayne Randall

    Dirt Modified nominations: Andrew Firth, Andrew Pezzutti, Anthony Ashen, Chris Corbett, Dale Corbett, Garry Wathen, Graeme Holland, Harley Wright, Kevin Britten, Kevin Stow, Marcus McKenzie, Mitchell Randall, Nick Knott, Paul Booker, Phil Roberts, Ray Eggins, Ray Klarich, Russell Ward, Sam Bruggy, Terry Leerentveld, Trent Scofield, Trevor Wiley

    Late Model nominations: Aaron Van Zeeland, Carter Armstrong, Darren Kane, Josh Schultz, Michael Jenner, Nick Girdlestone, Steve Van Zeeland

    Modlite Pro Series round three nominations: Andrew Snelling, Ben Walker, Brad Dawson, Brendon Tucker, Chris Were, Dylan Hunter, Klinton Hancey, Kyle Honour, Luke Whitehill, Nathan Politch, Neil Gregson, Sam Gollschewsky, Sean Egan, Sean Middleton, Sean Rose, Steve Collins, Terry Leerentveld, Will Butler

    Open Sedan B nominations: Ben Robertson, Ben Taylor, Dan Williams, Gene Lowe, Haiden Grantz, Kerrie Anne Browne, Merv Price, Neville Lowther, Nicole Woolf, Rachel Hawkins, Ricky Price, Russell Davis, Scott Taylor, Toby Cryer, Tristan Price,

    Open Sedan A nominations: Bob Ware, Daniel Taylor, Gary Kivela, Greg Town, Keith Craft, Les Eisenmenger, Michael Taylor, Ray Lane

    For more information, head to the track website at www.brisbanespeedway.com.au or follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook for event updates.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Valvoline Raceway