• Justin McMinn emerged victorious from a hectic Speedcar feature at Avalon Raceway last night (Saturday 9th December). McMinn led home a small but stellar field in an exciting final.

    With a number of high profile Speedcar events around the country drawing cars away from Victoria, it was a smaller than usual field but that didn’t stop the usual level of speed, close racing, drama and excitement.

    The feature had plenty of action from start to finish commencing on the opening lap when Domain Ramsey launched from the second row into a great battle with pole sitter Glen Shaw until the first stoppage on lap 3 when Daniel Timberlake spun.

    The track was quite slick and a little rough in turn 1 which was causing the little cars some dramas but Ramsey solved this problem by utilising the highline all the way around the lap. Unfortunately he spun coming out of turn 4 sending himself to the rear.

    This elevated McMinn to the head of the field from Shaw, Ash Booker, Matt Papa, Dillon Ghent, Ryan McKenna, Brad Day, Timberlake and Ramsey.

    On the restart McMinn opened a small gap while Ramsey went straight back to the wall and started picking off cars.

    After a number of laps Ramsey was up to 4th and pushing on until turn 4 almost caught him out again as he was very sideways coming off the turn. Shaw who was inside Ramsey and dicing with Booker saw the sideways Ramsey and fearing contact, which was only narrowly avoided, turned his car left but unluckily for Shaw his car bit in and executed a quick roll-over causing the race to be declared due to time constraints.

    And so it was that McMinn was given the confetti cannon shower with Booker second ahead of the Rookie and Permatex Hard Charger Ghent. Papa, Ramsey, Brad Day, Timberlake and McKenna filled out the finishers.

    The action in the two earlier hits was just as intense as the final with David Alford spinning the TEH #18 into turn 1 and being clipped by Ramsey (Indy Race Parts #2) before Alford rolled ending his night.
    A great multi car battle then ensued between Ghent (Abrasive Blasting Service & Supply #27), Shaw (Atlantic Performance Oils #72), McMinn and Booker (I-Saw Concrete #59) with Matt Papa out front in the #25.
    Papa’s winning run came to an end on lap 8 of 10 when Shaw took the lead and held it to the flag from Papa and the tight pair of Ghent and McMinn.

    The second heat saw a major pile-up on lap 3 in turn 4 involving McKenna (Morbark #9), Ghent, Papa, Shaw and Brad Day’s #3.
    The race was declared a couple of laps early however when Jack Day spun and was t-boned by the unlucky Timberlake. Day’s night was over as Shaw took his second win ahead of McMinn, McKenna and Booker.

    Next event on the Victorian Calendar is the annual return to Portland Speedway this weekend on December 16 where the extreme unpredictability of who will win will continue.

    VSDA 2017/18 race calendar (subject to change)

    December 16 Portland
    28 Laang

    January 7 Warrnambool – 73rd Victorian Speedcar Championship
    13 Avalon - G-Town Rumble/Rd 4 Track Championship

    February 9/10 Murray Bridge SA – Australian Speedcar Championship
    24 Bairnsdale

    March 17 Avalon – Skips Race/Rd 5 Track Championship.
    24 Redline – Bill Evans Classic

    April 7 Wangaratta
    21 Avalon – Round 6 Track Championship.

    Further details and a complete list of nominations can be found on the VSDA Facebook page – Victorian Speedcar drivers Association.

    - Ends -
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 21, 2018

  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, April 28, 2018

  • Sydney Showground Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Sunday, April 29, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, May 5, 2018

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, May 6, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, May 12, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tamworth
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Gatton Speedway
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018

  • Ellenbrook Speedway
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Friday, July 27, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018

  • Northline Speedway