• As the 2018 Autopro Australian Late Model Title approaches the official nomination list has been released with a total of 46 drivers from six Australian states, the United States of America and New Zealand set to compete at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway between February 1 and 3, 2018.

    The American contingent will see Indiana’s Joe Godsey, the Grandson of former Australian tourist and legendary driver Ray Godsey Snr, and Arkansas resident Jeff Roth take on the best Australia has to offer in a pair of Rocket XR1 chassis out of the Roth Motorsports stable. Both cars will carry the number 14 with Roth running #14R with Godsey in #14G.

    The host state, South Australia, will have 8 entries in the field headed up by young gun Ryan Alexander in his #36 Club29 chassis, former title podium place getter Mat Crimmins, “The Barossa Bandit” Steve Vaughan, Mark McCarthy and Luke Raymond.

    The spiritual home of Australian Late Model racing, Western Australia, will have the strongest line up with a dozen cars heading across the Nullarbor. Among the West Aussies is a whole host of potential winners including 5 times Champion Brad Blake, current Australia 3 Paul Stubber, who already has a Murray Bridge win this season, Craig Vosbergen, Warren Oldfield, Jay Cardy, Kye Blight and Veronica McCann.

    There will also be a good chance that a driver from New South Wales will walk away with the coveted #1 with some of the best teams from Sydney making the trek to Murray Bridge. Three times South Australian Champion Ben Nicastri, Australia #2 David Doherty, Ryan Fenech, Clayton Pyne, Darryl Grimson and Tim Bink among the likely front runners.

    But the remaining States can’t be discounted including Tasmania, who will have two of the best sedan drivers in Australia representing the Apple Isle, including current Australian Champion Callum Harper and Brad Smith.

    Victoria’s likely candidates for a big result rely on youngster Cameron Pearson and veteran sedan champion Mick Nicola while Queensland will be spearheaded by 2015 Australian Champion Darren Kane in the #36 Ian Boettcher factory race car and former Thunderdome Stock Car racer Nick Girdlestone.

    The 2018 AUTOPRO Australian Late Model Title will be held at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway between Thursday February 1 and Saturday February 3, 2018 and it will be proudly supported by Autopro, Speedway Australia and Mental Racewear.

    Official Nominations:

    New South Wales - NSW 9 Clayton Pyne, NSW 12 Darryl Grimson, NSW 19 Todd Bayley, NSW 24 Wade Carter, NSW 25 David Doherty, NSW 28 Brad Goman, NSW 29 Ryan Fenech, NSW 41 Tim Bink, NSW 67 Ed Borg, NSW 91 Dean Hickey, NSW 99 Ben Nicastri, NSW 181 Bradley Giffen.

    Queensland - QLD 7 Nick Girdlestone, QLD 9 Brett Watson, QLD 35 Carter Armstrong, QLD 36 Darren Kane

    South Australia - 5 M Mark McCarthy, SA 5 Luke Raymond, SA 8 Fiona Verhoeven SA 10 Mat Crimmins, SA 21 Darryle Launer, SA 31 Roger Oliver, SA 36 Ryan Alexander, SA 67 Steve Vaughan

    Tasmania - AUST 1 Callum Harper, TAS 6 Brad Smith

    Victoria - VIC 3 Mick Nicola, X 4 David Robertson, X 7 Zack Tyson, VIC 9 Shane Belk, VIC 10 Cameron Pearson

    New Zealand - NZ 12 Kristin Vermeulen

    Western Australia - WA 0 Brad Blake, WA 08 Craig Vosbergen, WA 15 Warren Oldfield, WA 18Matt Goodlad, WA 19 Simon McNab, WA 31 Paul Stubber, WA 39 Jarrin Bielby, WA 41 Kye Blight, WA 50 Veronica McCann, WA 52 Jay Cardy, WA 71 Jamie Moon, WA 91 Michael Holmes

    United States of America - 14 R Jeff Roth, 14 G Joe Godsey.

    SALMA Release prepared by:
    Phil Michell Motorsport Media
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 17, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sonic Speedway, Swan Hill
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, March 18, 2018

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway