• Australian Speedway history was made last night at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway as 17-year-old Kaidon Brown drove to victory in the 77th Australian Speedcar Championship. After taking the lead with an exciting pass on early race leader Dayne Kingshott Brown was simply sensational as he drove the race of his short career to win the 40-lap finale easily over Kingshott and Pennsylvanian standout Alex Bright.

    “It hasn’t even sunk in that I have won, I can’t really believe it. The car was perfect in the final. It was a pity that I never got to see Dad win this race, but I am really proud to win this race for him and my whole family” commented the newly crowned Champion.

    The win topped off a great week for the teenager after he had earlier been selected for the Speedway Australia Rising Star Program.

    After starting on the pole Kingshott was a little disappointed to run second but it was a good recovery after falling back as far as fourth.

    “Full credit to Kaidon, he was so fast no one was going to beat him tonight. I can’t really complain too much we had a great couple of weeks, winning the State Title last week and second tonight. All I can do is come back again next year”.

    For Bright it was the fourth time he had been on the podium in the Australian Title without standing on the top step.

    Fourth place went to Travis Mills with former New Zealand resident charging home late to round out the top 5. New Zealander Hayden Williams just edged out Harley Bishop, who transferred from the B-Main, with Dave Darland, Troy Ware and Nathan Smee completing the top 10.

    The event started with drama even before the drivers lined up for the 4-wide salute with front row starter Michael Pickens failing to take his spot in the field after an engine issue that forced him out of the pole shuffle returned. In what was a great gesture Western Australian Chris Talenta, who was a reserve, offered his car to the former Champion but he declined the offer after he didn’t feel comfortable in the car.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
Password:
 
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 28, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Sydney Showground Speedway
  • Sunday, April 29, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, May 5, 2018

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, May 6, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, May 12, 2018

  • Tamworth
  • Northline Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Gatton Speedway
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018

  • Ellenbrook Speedway
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, July 27, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 10, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 17, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 18, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 24, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 25, 2018

  • Northline Speedway