Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Highly regarded long time Sydney speedway writer Dennis Newlyn achieved a unique honour during his visit to America for the recent Indianapolis 500.

    In recognition by the US motor sport media of his five decades coverage of Australian speedway, Dennis was interviewed on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway Radio Network which was broadcast “live” via affiliated stations across America and around the world!

    This was a rare occurrence in the long history of the 500 event and its radio broadcast of the famous race an Australian speedway media representative – among the vast overseas press contingent – has been accorded such acclaim on the renowned Indy network.

    Dennis was given good air time on the carb day pre-race show and also did a pre-recorded 40-second piece detailing his recollections of Indy history which went to air during the race coverage.

    “After having listened to the IMS radio network Indy 500 coverage as a youngster decades earlier on short-wave radio, I never thought one day I would actually get an opportunity to be involved with such a broadcast, “ Newlyn said.

    “I especially want to thank Network Manager Wally Leavitt who was so gracious and accommodating in addition to all of the show's personnel who made me feel welcome.

    “This was more than a special moment in my 53 year writing career but something that will remain frozen in time forever in my life.

    “To be sharing the programme with friend, Indy historian Donald Davidson and representing Australian speedway, was incredible. To also meet up with Paul Page, whose media career at Indy has involved both US TV and Radio over the years, was wonderful.”
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
Password:
 
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, June 22, 2019

  • Katherine Speedway
  • Saturday, June 29, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 20, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, July 26, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 9, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2019

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Sunday, August 11, 2019

  • Olympic Park Mildura
  • Friday, August 16, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 17, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, August 23, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2019

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2019

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, September 21, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, September 28, 2019

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 5, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 12, 2019

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Saturday, October 19, 2019

  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, October 26, 2019

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway