Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • The Western Australian Formula 500 Championship is one of the longest running title events in WA and this weekend at Geraldton Speedway will see the sixty third anniversary running of the event.
    Starting in the 1957/58 season, the division was then known as TQ’s and the event (and the following two title events) was won by Wally Higgs.
    In the 1973/74 season the title underwent a name change to Formula 500’s, with the event being won by Bill Richards, a man who has still been competing in recent years. Bill also finished second on three occasions, giving him four total podium finishes in the title event over the years.
    The event history of the WA Formula 500 is a virtual who’s who of Formula 500/TQ legends, with winner’s right across its history performing well in multiple titles as well as on the national stage.
    Leading the stats is none other than Johnny Andersson, a six time champion who featured on the podium another eight times, with three seconds and five thirds. This means that from the 1964/65 season through to his last podium in the1994/95 season, a period of thirty one years, Andersson featured on the podium a total of fourteen times. It is for this reason, as announced earlier today, that the preliminary feature race will be named in his honour.
    The only other person to feature on the podium in double digits is Phil Crofts, who put in a series of spectacular performances to finish on the podium eleven times, including two wins, from the 1990/91 season through to 2006/07. That’s an amazing eleven podiums in seventeen seasons!
    Despite having less total podium finishes with eight, Bill Broadwood is still ahead of Crofts on wins after becoming a four time champion. Featuring on the podium a total of eight times across sixteen years is certainly an impressive effort, as is the efforts of Matt Brown who has achieved exactly the same feat of four wins, three seconds and a third place over sixteen years! Defending Champion Steven Ellement has also feature on the podium eight times, with three wins, four seconds and a third place, including being on the podium five times in the last six years, something he will be keen to add to this weekend.
    Bryan Mullings, Noel Potts and Wally Higgs, have all claimed three title wins while interestingly, Higgs and Potts remain the only two drivers to have ever won the title event in three consecutive years, both in the first six years of the event being held!
    Seventy eight drivers have claimed a podium finish in the sixty two year history of the event thus far, including a total of thirty five drivers who have claimed a win. Aside from the afore mentioned drivers, there are another seven drivers who have grabbed two wins apiece (including Crofts), while a further twenty one drivers have claimed victory on one occasion.
    Brad Chapman would have to be the most successful in WA titles to have never actually have claimed a win, with a total of four podium finishes including two seconds and two thirds. Ken Neilson also grabbed a second and two thirds without a victory.
    So who will take the title? A full list of nominations will be released tomorrow, but we can assure you that the field, including a number of former champions and place getters, will be one that makes sure it will be a cracker jack title event. We will see you trackside this Saturday and Sunday night at Geraldton Speedway to see who will be crowned the 63rdAnniversary WA Title winner!
    Release by DTN Media.
    1957-58 Wally Higgs George Higgs Brian Lucy
    1958-59 Wally Higgs Harley Pederick Mt Taylor
    1959-60 Wally Higgs Harry Condor Jack Rowe
    1960-61 Noel Potts Don Ferguson Wally Higgs
    1961-62 Noel Potts Tony Walker George Cole
    1962-63 Noel Potts Graham Wegner Peter Kayne
    1964-65 Danny Lohoar Graham McDougall John Andersson
    1965-66 Charlie West John Andersson John Thomas
    1966-67 Charlie West Ralph Bellairs Rob Grant
    1967-68 John Andersson Graham McDougall Peter Nicholson
    1968-69 Graham McDougall John Andersson John Thomas
    1969-70 John Andersson George Gregson Gary Sharpe
    1970-71 George Gregson Stan McEntee John Andersson
    1971-72 John Andersson Norm Kemp Barry Hancock
    1972-73 Wally Cowie Bill Richards John Andersson
    1973-74 Bill Richards Barry Hancock Ray Smith
    1974-75 John Andersson Ken Neilson Barry Hancock
    1975-76 Barry Hancock Bill Richards Ray Smith
    1976-77 John Andersson Jim Tryhorn Ken Neilson
    1977-78 George Higgs Ray Windon Ken Neilson
    1978-79 George Higgs Bill Broadwood Bryan Mullings
    1979-80 John Andersson Ray Windon Rod Bottrell
    1980-81 Rod Bottrell Trevor Pearce Des Ferris
    1981-82 Peter Sumpton George Higgs John Andersson
    1982-83 Bill Broadwood Robbie Brown Peter Sumpton
    1983-84 Bill Broadwood Col Thompson Rod Bottrell
    1984-85 Peter Sumpton John Andersson Barry Hancock
    1985-86 Des Ferris Bill Broadwood Peter Sumpton
    1986-87 Bill Broadwood Des Ferris Vince Chapman
    1987-88 Bill Broadwood Vince Chapman Des Ferris
    1988-89 Vince Chapman Paul Anderson Gary Ellement
    1989-90 Jeff Hancock Bill Broadwood Bryan Mullings
    1990-91 Bryan Mullings Alan Bascombe Phil Crofts
    1991-92 Bryan Mullings Bill Richards Paul Anderson
    1992-93 Paul Anderson Phil Crofts Rod Bottrell
    1993-94 Bryan Mullings Phil Crofts Bill Broadwood
    1994-95 Jeff Hancock Phil Crofts John Andersson
    1995-96 Craig Okely Bryan Mullings Dave Irvine
    1996-97 Marshall McDiarmid Phil Crofts Jeff Hancock
    1997-98 Aaron Griffiths Brian Coombs Phil Crofts
    1998-99 Phil Crofts Brad Chapman Jeff Hancock
    1999-00 Trevor Harding Brad Chapman Phil Crofts
    2000-01 Phil Crofts Graham Higgs Anthony Chitty
    2001-02 Trevor Harding Graham Higgs Phil Crofts
    2002-03 Matt Brown Tim Gardner Brad Chapman
    2003-04 Gavin Casey Matt Brown Rod Bottrell
    2004-05 Matt Brown Tim Gardner Leroy McKay
    2005-06 Matt Brown Steven Gay Brad Chapman
    2006-07 Ben Devlin Matt Brown Phil Crofts
    2007-08 Ben Devlin Matt Brown Steven Gay
    2008-09 Steven Ellement Cody Turacchio Wayne Moller (Qld)
    2009-10 Steven Ellement Ben McLeod (Vic) Trevor Harding Jr
    2010-11 Daniel Harding Steven Ellement Trevor Harding Jr
    2011-12 David Sinagra Charlie Brown (Qld) Matt Brown
    2012-13 Andrew Priolo Mark House Jason Priolo
    2013-14 Jye O'Keeffe (Vic) Thomas Davies Steven Ellement
    2014-15 Tom Hooper Steven Ellement Troy Johnson
    2015-16 Thomas Davies Luke Nardini Tom Hooper
    2016-17 Glenn Carstairs Steven Ellement Thomas Davies
    2017-18 Matt Brown Steven Ellement Mark House
    2018-19 Steven Ellement Thomas Davies Cody Turacchio
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, February 27, 2021

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, February 28, 2021

  • Margaret River Speedway
  • Thursday, March 4, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 6, 2021

  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Riverland Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Sunday, March 7, 2021

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Saturday, March 13, 2021

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Thursday, March 18, 2021

  • Gillman Speedway
  • Saturday, March 20, 2021

  • Avalon Raceway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Arunga Park Speedway (Alice Springs)
  • Narrogin Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Thursday, March 25, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, March 26, 2021

  • Murray Bridge Speedway