• Jack McCarthy continued his recent dominance of the main events at the Riverland Speedway at Renmark as he led all 20 laps on Saturday night at the venue’s season opener. After starting from the outside of the front row McCarthy was never challenged throughout the event as he defeated pole sitter Jordon Bolitho, with Anthony Tapley enjoying a strong run as he completed the podium in third.

    In all a relatively healthy field of 16 drivers signed in for action at the Riverland venue which is one of the largest seen at the track. The list was a real mixture of ability with the likes of McCarthy, Tapley, Bolitho, Nate Trewin and former Australian Champion Joel Chadwick joined by a whole host of rookies, many of them still on their probationary licences.

    With the field being split into two heat groups the preliminary winners on the night were Bolitho, who remained undefeated throughout the heats, while McCarthy and Trewin both recorded a win each. McCarthy also recorded a second placed finish therefore securing a front row start.

    Fourth place in the main event went to Joel Chadwick, who was making his first start of the season, while Harley Alexander had one of his best results for some time as he recorded a top five result. Former Super Sedan racer Mitchell Rigney finished sixth in his Wingless Sprint debut just ahead of fellow rookie Thomas Walkom. Dale Gesell, Jesse Alexander, Tyson Newton, Alan Saint, Nicole Southby and Ryley Hammerstein were the last of the official finishers.

    Nate Trewin was the major casualty of the race as he was running in a podium position until he retired with an issue just past halfway.

    Following the A-Main an extra race was added, due to early finishing time, for anyone who wanted some extra track time with nine drivers taking up the opportunity. Anthony Tapley was victorious in the 12-lap race ahead of Nicole Southby, Dale Gesell, Ryley Hammerstein and Thomas Walkom.

    In the end the event was lucky to be completed with a less than favourable weather forecast in the days prior to the meeting and the fact that less than 18 hours later the infield and pit area resembled a lake as over 75mm of rain fell on the surrounding areas.

    Following the Renmark event, the Wingless Sprint drivers will now turn their attention towards the Murray Bridge Speedway this Saturday night for Round 3 of the Track Championship with another strong line up. Following the unfortunate rainout on October 15 the field has once again exceeded 30 nominations therefore the night will consist of six heats, a B-Main and the all-important A-Main for the top 20 qualifiers.

    Currently the extremely talented entry list includes opening night winner Tyson Martin, Renmark winner Jack McCarthy, Hayden Vickers, Rylan Furler, Ryan Alexander, Anthony Tapley, William Caruso, Nate Trewin, Sprintcar racer Keke Falland and Mildura’s Jordon Bolitho, so an action-packed night of open wheeled racing can be guaranteed.

    As an added bonus the field has increased to 36 drivers with the cancellation of the Victorian event at Nyora with Mount Gambier’s Mitch Broome and Kirby Hillyer and Barossa Valley racer Harley Alexander being late additions.

    The Murray Bridge meeting is the second event of a busy run that includes 5 weekends of racing in a row with the rescheduled non-points race at Murray Bridge on November 5, the opening round of the Ti-Bills Race Parts State Series at Whyalla on November 12 and Round 4 of the Track Championship at Murray Bridge a week later.

    Next Event Details - Saturday 29th October 2022, Murray Bridge Speedway, Current Nominations (36 Cars) - S1 Tyson Matin, S3 Keke Falland, S6 Tyson Newton, S10 William Caruso, S14 Matthew Tyler, S15 Hayden Vickers, S18 Jenna Kervers, S19 Dale Gesell, S20 Harley Alexander, S22 Jamie Crafter, S23 Jack McCarthy, S24 Ross Miller, S26 Rylan Furler, S27 Mitchell Rigney, S29 Corey Brougham, S33 Brad Evans, S35 Mitch Broome, S36 Ryan Alexander, S38 James Rodda, VX41 Aaron Kennett, S47 Anthony Tapley, S49 Darryl Knuckey, S50 Jordon Bolitho, S53 Nicole Southby, S54 Alan Saint, S57 Kirra-Lee Pitcher, S58 Nate Trewin, S66 Sam Martin, S75 Troy Frisby, S77 Mick Barker, S82 Caleb Evans, S84 Jesse Alexander, S86 Kirby Hillyer, S91 Brent Fox, S92 Thomas Walkom, S99 Michael Busby.

    Ends Release…
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway