• Nominations are now being taken for the annual Gillman Speedway Classic Championships, which this year will be on Saturday night, 27 October 2012, with racing starting at 7.30 p.m.

    Supplementary Regulations, including official entry forms, are available on the Gillman website at the bottom of the Nominations Page.

    As in past years, Championship events will be held for JAP/ESO Solo bikes (Riders aged 50 & over competing also for the Jeff Fisher Perpetual Trophy); 2 valve Solos (riders over 30 years of age or not a current open rider); Solo Evolution (4 valve); British & European Sidecars; Japanese Sidecars; and Post Classic Sidecars. There will also be demonstration events for Classic Three Quarter Midgets.

    Entries are now being accepted and close last mail 8th October 2012. Late entries may not be accepted and any late entry accepted will attract a $100 fee.

    Each year the meeting also doubles as a tribute night to a past champion, and this year's tribute rider is sidecar champion Len Bowes (pictured right, and below).

    Research is about to commence on the special commemorative programme detailing Bowes’ career, and Gillman Speedway manager says anyone with any anecdotes about Len, or anyone able to send high resolution photo scans, should contact him on dave@gillmanspeedway.com

    Practice facilities for the meeting will be available on Thursday 25th (twilight), and a “meet the riders” bbq, open to the general public, official will be held at the Gillman Stadium the night before the race meeting, on Friday 26 October, commencing at 7 pm.



    Len Bowes on his Suzuki at Rowley Park Speedway in the 1970s.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
Password:
 
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 29, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Saturday, May 6, 2017

  • Darlington
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Toowoomba Speedway
  • Saturday, May 13, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, May 20, 2017

  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, May 27, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, June 3, 2017

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 10, 2017

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 8, 2017

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 9, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 16, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 23, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, September 30, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 7, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 21, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, October 28, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 4, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Wednesday, December 27, 2017

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Friday, January 5, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway