• After a season full of top class events the 2015/16 Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway calendar will come to an end this Sunday night (April 24) with the Season Finale featuring the Murray Bridge Junior Sedan Championship and the inaugural Late Model and Modlite Madness. With both of the “Madness” categories conducting their State Titles the night prior at separate venues they will be well represented with several interstate competitors while a field of 18 Junior drivers will be chasing the trophy in their biggest race of the Murray Bridge season.

    For fans of the thundering V8 Late Models they will have the opportunity to witness the biggest field ever assembled at Murray Bridge as 17 of the American based sedans are expected to be on hand. In addition to the local standouts such as Matt Crimmins, Luke Raymond, Steve Vaughan, Mark and Cary McCarthy and Mount Gambier’s Stuey Hill, the nomination list includes a further 7 drivers from Victoria, New South Wales and Tasmania, while lady racer Kristen Vermuelen will represent New Zealand.

    Leading the interstate charge will be current New South Wales State Champion Ben Nicastri and former Super Sedan standout Brad Smith from Tasmania. New South Wales will also be represented by Dean Hickey.

    A large contingent from Victoria will attempt to steal away the prizemoney with Michael Hetherington being among the main contenders along with Brendon Hucker, Tim McPherson and Warrnambool’s Fiona Verhoeven.

    After a successful event earlier in the season the Modlites will return with a field of 14 drivers with three drivers from New South Wales set to battle it out with the locals.

    The local line-up is full of talent with a majority of the drivers having spent several years in other classes before stepping into the Modlite division. Graham Knuckey, Rex and Cory Hodgson, Brian Chadwick, Tony Hardy and Mark Martin all have years of dirt track experience and they will be among the early favourites.

    Rob Swain, Bruce Adams and Brad Foregeard are the three nominations from interstate.

    The Junior Sedan Championship finale will be a hotly contested event with 18 young drivers out to finish their season on a high but they will all be chasing Kooper Greig who was in outstanding form last Saturday night at our previous event as he dominated the final.

    Greig will not have it his own way though, with the Thorne twins Heath and Nathan back to try and wrestle the win.

    Both Ashlee McEwin and Tamika Pitcher will be shooting for a podium, after both winning heats last week, while Mac Caldecott will be looking to improve on his third placing after a dogged year of damage of the Irrigation Systems SA 8.

    Once again the Wingless Sprints will be out in force with 19 nominations with the field including drivers from Mildura, Melbourne, Mount Gambier and Murray Bridge, in addition to the Adelaide based drivers.

    Local Murray Bridge resident Robert Heard will be looking to take back to back wins after holding off up and coming Jake Ashworth last weekend, while the AMCA Nationals will be back with a strong car count after being cancelled from the previous meeting. Steve Letts will return to the seat, while Wayne Vickers, Michael Sharpe, Leanne Turner, Jake Armstrong and Ray Hedley will all be keen to finish the season on a high.

    In the Street Stocks, Nigel Reichstein will look to wrap up the track championship, while Cade Cox, Darren Flatman, Neville Nitschke, Craig Buchanan and Tony Prideaux will be looking for an upset.

    The V6 Sprints round out a 28 event program with a six car field including Nick Hall, Michael Buxallen, Danny Pauley, Kym Simon and rookies Brock Lane and Ben Ligertwood. Speedcars were unfortunately cancelled due to insufficient nominations.

    The club is keen to finish the season on a high, as the night will be the last event the club will promote, with the venue set to be leased from May 1.

    So make sure that you are trackside this Sunday night for your last dose of dirt track action at the Murray Machining and Sheds Murray Bridge Speedway before the long cold winter kicks in.

    Event Details:

    Pit Gates Open 1.00pm
    Public Gates open 3.30pm
    Drivers Meeting 4.00pm
    Wheel pack 4.30pm
    Hot Laps 5.00pm

    Admission Prices:

    Adults $20
    Concession $15
    12 to 15yrs $10
    11 years & under FREE

    By Phil Michell

    Photo Frank Midgley
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, April 21, 2018

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, April 28, 2018

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Carrick Speedway
  • Sydney Showground Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Sunday, April 29, 2018

  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Saturday, May 5, 2018

  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, May 6, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Saturday, May 12, 2018

  • Tamworth
  • Northline Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018

  • Gatton Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018

  • Ellenbrook Speedway
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, June 9, 2018

  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Saturday, July 7, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Friday, July 27, 2018

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 28, 2018

  • Northline Speedway