• Tasmanian Jock Goodyer added a second Australian Sprintcar Championship to his credit in dramatic style at the Avalon Raceway with a last lap pass to secure his maiden Australian Pro Sprintcar Championship. After trailing local Jake Smith for 39 laps Goodyer dove to the inside of turn 1 and came away with a spectacular win and in the process, he joined Robbie Farr and Jamie Veal as the only drivers to have captured the #1 in both Open and 360 / Pro Sprintcar competition.

    “Firstly, I have got to thank Domain for allowing me to drive this car and Hayden to making the right calls tuning it up. During the race I couldn’t believe how good the #72 (Smith) was through the traffic. I just couldn’t bridge the gap. Then I felt the rubber come in and I kept looking at the lap counter, so I knew it was my last chance, so I drove it hard in there. The rubber was hard to catch but I got it just right. Honestly, I was in the best position being second as I could see where he was running but I left it the last opportunity and we got it done.”

    “To win both Titles is pretty cool. In fact, I have now won all three of the winged classes when you add in the F500 Title, so maybe it’s time to retire now I have won them all” joked the new Australian Pro Sprintcar Champion.

    Goodyer is also the second driver to claim a podium in both Championships, with his victory backing up his third placing in the 410ci Championship at Warrnambool in January.

    Despite leading 39 laps and not getting the win runner-up Jake Smith was still elated with his performance having finished on the podium on both nights.

    “I’m stoked to finish second. It’s not like they guy who beat me is a hack. Jock is one of the best going around. The car was so good in the lapped traffic. Australia #2 doesn’t have the same ring as Australia #1, but we put on a good show. We will just have to go to Simpson and get the number 1 there next year” commented the quietly spoken runner-up.

    The final spot on the podium went to Tim Van Ginneken, who charged from position nine on the starting grid. This was an outstanding result considering that he didn’t think he would even be competing at this year’s Championship.

    “To be honest after everything that I have gone through I just wanted to finish. If it wasn’t for our sponsors and my crew, I would have been sitting on the hill watching. On the opening lap I passed about three cars, and I thought this will do, I will just sit here, but as it played out the car was that good, I got onto the podium” added Tim following the race.

    For Van Ginneken this was his second on the podium after finishing as the runner-up in the Title at Kalgoorlie in 2019.

    Just off the podium was four times Champion Ryan Jones who recovered well after starting from position 12 while Victorian Matthew Symons was the first LS powered Pro Sprintcar across the line in fifth. After running in a podium position for a majority of the race Daniel Pestka faded back to sixth late in the race with Chris Soloman finishing in seventh place.

    Defending National Champion Mark Caruso finished a creditable eighth considering he had no brakes for a majority of the final while Josh Buckingham and Ricky Maiolo completed the top 10. Rounding out the finishers were Paul Solomon, Brodie Davis, Andy Hibbert, Michael Tancredi, Mitch Smith, Shane Steenholdt, Steven Loader and Phil Micallef.

    Only two drivers were officially classified as non-finishers with Brett Milburn and Tate Frost failing to greet the chequered flag. At certain stages of the race both Milburn and Frost ran as high as third in the standings with Milburn spinning in turn 3 on lap 9 while Frost rolled on the front straight on lap 18 after contact with the slower car of Phil Micallef.

    Earlier the final five heat races, a C-Main and a Last Chance Qualifier (B-Main) were conducted with the drivers producing plenty of action for the sizeable crowd on hand. Ryan Davis, Kinser Claridge, Jake Smith, Steven Loader, and Dillon Siely all capturing a heat win. For Siely it was his second heat of the weekend having secured a heat win on the opening night.

    Nigel Laity, Travis Miller, Adam Greenwood and Shane Steenholdt transferred from the C-Main into the B-main while Andy Hibbert, Mitch Smith, Steve Loader joined Steenholdt, who ran the alphabet, tagged onto the back of the Main event after an epic 20 lapper that took close to 30 minutes to complete due to the number of red light stoppages and a fence repair. Those to go upside down included Dillon Siely, who forced the fence repair, Kinser Claridge and Brett Smith.

    Sprintcars Australia would like to thank the Avalon Raceway, Paul Solomon from Dirt X Industries and the competitors for their support throughout the running of the 2024 Australian Pro Sprintcar Championship and they look forward to the 2025 event to be held at the Simpson Speedway.

New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, May 25, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Sydney International Speedway
  • Saturday, June 22, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • Saturday, July 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, July 27, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 10, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, August 24, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 6, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 7, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Thursday, September 12, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Friday, September 13, 2024

  • Northline Speedway
  • Saturday, September 14, 2024

  • Northline Speedway