• Multi Australian Champion Tim Morse made a successful return to racing when he took out the V8 Dirt Modified Lord Mayor’s Cup at Castrol Edge Lismore Speedway Saturday night.

    Morse led every lap of the main event and was back to his vintage best after eight years away from the national V8 Dirt Modified scene while driving Sprintcars.

    The trophy race also co-incided with the running of the NSW Championship after the state title was washed out last season.
    Despite a strong effort by ultimate runner-up, Australian titleholder Kevin Britten, Morse was always in command.

    Britten made a determined lunge on the final lap in the run to the chequered flag, however Morse crossed the line .64 seconds ahead of Britten in an exciting finish.

    Andrew Pezzutti filled a distant third after a steady drive throughout the 30-lap distance.

    Morse has teamed up with former driver turned car owner Andrew Shilleto from Maryborough who is the Australian agent for the American TEO V8 Dirt Modified chassis brand out of New Jersey. Morse’s TEO car ran perfectly all night.

    “It’s great to get a win first up and everything worked so well in our preparation for tonight. To win the Lord Mayor’s Cup and the NSW title is very pleasing in my return to V8 Dirt Modified racing,” an elated Morse said at the victory presentation.

    The race ran without major incident despite several yellow light caution periods. The heats provided the perfect form guide after Morse and Britten emerged the strong runners, though Scott Quirk and Steve Milthorpe also stood out with strong drives.

    Promoter David Lander got the season off to a good start with a large crowd in attendance. The season was officially opened by the Deputy Mayor of Lismore City Council Gianpiero Battista.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 25, 2017

  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Borderline Speedway
  • Quit Bunbury City Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Maryborough Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Saturday, December 2, 2017

  • Mildura Speedway
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Nowra Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Latrobe Speedway
  • Manjimup Speedway
  • Gulf Western & Independent Oils Raceway,
  • Redline Speedway (Ballarat)
  • Saturday, December 9, 2017

  • Westline Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Solo Hobart Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Sunday, December 10, 2017

  • Adelaide Motorsport Park
  • Tuesday, December 12, 2017

  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Saturday, December 16, 2017

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway