Featured Content Slider Using jQuery - Web Developer Plus Demos
  • Should Darren Kane successfully defending his Australian Super Sedan Championship at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway this Friday and Saturday night he’ll create an exclusive club all of his own.

    He won’t be the only back-to-back National Super Sedan champion – that’s been done before by several people since 1971 including Mick Nicola, Ron Pyne and Kevin Purton.

    It’s unlikely however that a back-to-back champion was also the reigning #1 in another Sedan category.

    After successfully snaring the Aussie Late Model title from arch rival and fellow Tasmanian Callum Harper at Murray Bridge last month Kane may well hold the exclusive record of Super titles back to back and a Late Model crown in the same season.

    Now that’s remarkable.

    “It’s definitely something I’d like to look back on after my career, doing that double,” Kane concedes “I think having wins in the two premier Sedan classes in the country, in the same year plus the double in the Super proves you can wheel a car a bit. It’d be nice to look back on for sure.”

    Pressed on who he rates as the new young force in Aussie sedan racing Kane is quick to name one.

    “Ryan Alexander without a doubt. He’s learned so much already in the few years he’s been around. He’s respectful and talented and I like helping him. I think he has a maturity and a versatility that is very rare for someone his age.

    Kane’s last appearance in Sydney was a win.

    “Parramatta is definitely one of my best tracks and definitely a happy place for the Ian Boettcher Race Parts team. You know national titles are different though, anything can happen. If anything this season we’ve possibly experimented a lot more with the car and I think if we stick to what we know and stay around our optimum set up base we’ll be as good a chance as anyone.”

    Kane’s attempt at history will not be made easy though.
    Standing in his way however will be at least four previous national champions.

    Three times Numero Uno Victorian Mick Nicola scored successes at Warrnambool (97/98) Albany (01/02) and interestingly Parramatta City Raceway in 02/03 to record back-to-back titles.

    Queenslander Matt Pascoe is a two-time winner with success at the Motorplex in 2012/2013 and Latrobe in Tasmania in 2014/2015.

    Queenslander Steve Jordan scored his maiden Aussie title victory at Lismore Speedway in 2010/2011.

    Callum Harper scored his #1 at Rockhampton Speedway in 2015/2016.
    All four of those drivers would back themselves for further victory this weekend in Sydney.

    South Australia #1 Dave Gartner kicked off his title assault in the best possible fashion with a win at the most recent NSW Super Sedan round last weekend.

    Attackers, not yet national title decorated, will come from everywhere.
    The quality of the field cannot be underestimated with a smattering of established heroes and rising stars out for Kane’s elusive #1.

    Joining the Super Sedans will also be the Production Sedans with a hot field entered for the inaugural “Harbour City Hustle” on both Friday and Saturday night of the title.

    On the Saturday night will be a crowd pleasing Demolition Derby also.

    Gates open 2pm.
    Action starts from 5.15pm.
    Valvoline Raceway is located at 21 Wentworth Street, Clyde.
    (02) 9637 0411.

    Adults $30
    Pension $20
    Juniors (13-15yrs) $15
    Kids 12 and under FREE
    Family (2 adults and 2 children) $70
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, March 24, 2018

  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Tamworth
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Friday, March 30, 2018

  • Gilgandra District Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018

  • Kalgoorlie International Speedway
  • Dubbo Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Esperance Motor Raceway
  • Lismore Speedway
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018

  • Carrick Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, April 14, 2018

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Goulburn Speedway
  • Waikerie
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway