• After the disappointment of an Easter washout, Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway fires up again this Saturday night (April 27) with a double-bill program that will see two current national titleholders in action. Just a week after clinching his third Australian Championship, Matt Pascoe heads the entry list for round 16 of the Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series while Kevin Britten, a four-time Australian Dirt Modified champion will face off against a highly credentialed field of rivals. As always, Archerfield will dish up a variety-packed program with Compact Speedcars, Lightning Sprints and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans providing the supporting action.

    Having been a benchmark performer in the Super Sedan ranks for more than 10 years, both on the track with outstanding results across the country and as an ambassador and advocate for his category, Matt Pascoes championship win last weekend in Moama is a fitting reward for his professional approach both on and off the track. It is also very appropriate that his first appearance as national champ will be on his home track and Pascoe will relish the opportunity to carry the #1 into battle against arch rival Darren Kane and more than a dozen others in a bid to consolidate his series lead with only two rounds remaining, including the $5000-to-win GP53 series finale to be staged here at Archerfield on May 18. Kane, of course, is also a three-time national titleholder and, whilst a fourth-place finish in Moama was an outstanding result, you can be sure that he wont be satisfied with anything less than a podium finish this weekend.

    However, such is the level of competition in this series, neither Kane nor Pascoe can afford to solely focus on each other as the previous Archerfield round saw Justin Randall emerge victorious in a thrilling feature race. Justin is amongst the starters again this weekend, as is his father Wayne, who currently sits second in the series standings and is the most experienced racer in the field with a list a achievements that includes five state title wins and innumerable feature race victories across the country in a career spanning more than 30 years. A very welcome addition to the field is Western Australian hotshoe Gary Higgs, who comes to Queensland as one of the most celebrated drivers to make the trek across the Nullarbor. The New South Wales-based duo of Ian Brims and Tania Smith are also in the field, with the latter having featured on the podium here at her last outing, while Townsvilles Trent Wilson makes a rare home state appearance. Wilson does most of his racing in Victoria and will need to be at his best given the stronger level of competition he will encounter this weekend.

    Like Pascoe, Kevin Britten is particularly strong at Archerfield and he will need to be at his best on Saturday as he takes on a field of more than 20 cars from Queensland and interstate in the final round of the DMA Five Star Series Always spectacular with his penchant for running high on the track to round up his rivals, Britten will face very stiff competition from no less than four national title winners in Mark Robinson, Andrew Pezzutti, David Clark and Scott Cannon, along with category stalwart Ray Klarich and several others who have emerged as genuine contenders, such as Sam Bruggy Mitchell Randall, Chris Corbett and Dale Corbett. In fact, following his win in the Western Australian Championship a few weeks back, Chris Corbett seems certain to win the Five Star Series should he produce a solid result on Saturday night. Robinson is his closest rival, but he sits more than 150 points in arrears, with Clarke and Cannon next in line some 100+ points further back.

    Lightning Sprints have also secured what looks to be their strongest field of the season with their Aussie champ in Chris Davis making the haul from south of Sydney to compete in round 13 of the Everyday Finance Solutions Club Championship, along with two-time NSW title winner AJ McTaggart. The pair will face tough opposition from the likes of Keith Blatch, Kurt Wilson, David Van Vegchel, Dave Fanning and a couple of Iaconos in Wayne and Jayden.

    Gates open at 4.00pm and, with Compact Speedcars and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma racing also scheduled, early racing gets underway from 5.00pm and the main program kicks off at 6.00pm.

    Brims Concrete Super Sedan Series round 16 nominations: Matt Pascoe, Darren Kane, Wayne Randall, Gary Higgs, Justin Randall, Tony Brinkmann, David OKeefe, Nicholas OKeefe, Colin Kaine, Ed Doherty, Trent Wilson, Rodney Craft, Ian Brims, Bob McCosker, Tania Smith, Dale Christensen

    Dirt Modified nominations: Kevin Britten, David Clarke, Brent Hall, Mark Robinson, Sam Bruggy, Kevin Stow, Chris Polsen, Joshua Rose, Andrew Pezzutti, Trent Scofield, Geoffrey Rose, Phil McNamara, Brett Clarke, Chris Corbett, Peter Readett, Andrew Firth, Dale Corbett, Zac McDonald, Trevor Wiley, Scott Quirk, Scott Cannon, Tony Dunn, Mitchell Randall, Ray Klarich

    Lightning Sprint nominations: Chris Davis, AJ McTaggart, Kurt Wilson, Keith Blatch, Jayden Iacono, Dave Fanning, Wayne Iacono, Michael Gollagher, Andrew Sparks, Tyler Stralow, David Van Vegchel, Rob Holmes, Scott Jukes

    Compact Speedcar nominations: Andrew Parkes, Connor McCullough, Dave Collins, Dave Swan, Matt ONeill, Mitchell Rooke, Nick Gannon, Richard Rooke, Rob Stewart, Steve Swingler, Trent Usher

    Ford vs Holden vs Sigma nominations: Adam Neesom, Kevin Maher, Travis Maher, Merv Price, Maverick Dack, Michael Laver, Robert Kynaston

    Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway is proudly supported by:?

    Ausdeck Patios and Roofing?
    East Coast Logistics
    Polar Ice?
    Queensland Speedway Spares

    For more information and event updates, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook, Instagram and Twitter.
New Page 2

Speedway Net Email

Email Login:
New users sign up
Speedway Net Email
Series Next Event Window

Upcoming Events

    Saturday, November 16, 2019

  • Premier Speedway - SRA
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Tolmer Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Sungold Stadium Premier Speedway
  • Heartland Raceway (Moama)
  • Saturday, November 23, 2019

  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Collie Speedway
  • SRA Borderline Speedway
  • Avalon Raceway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Perth Motorplex
  • Saturday, November 30, 2019

  • Whyalla Speedway
  • Mildura Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Laang Speedway
  • Archerfield Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway
  • Western Speedway, Hamilton
  • Saturday, December 7, 2019

  • Perth Motorplex
  • Hi-Tec Oils Speedway Toowoomba
  • Margaret River Speedway
  • Wangaratta Speedway
  • Murray Bridge Speedway
  • Blue Ribbon Raceway Horsham
  • Simpson Speedway
  • Gillman Speedway
  • Valvoline Raceway